Go Back   Jaguar Forums - Jaguar Enthusiasts Forum > Jaguar Models ( Modern ) > XJ ( X308 ) XJ8 / XJR
Sign in using an external account
Register Forgot Password?
Search

XJ ( X308 ) XJ8 / XJR 1997 - 2003

Welcome to Jaguar Forums!
Welcome to JaguarForums.com.

You are currently viewing our forums as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join the Jaguar Forums community today!


Reply
 
 
 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread
  #1  
Old 06-17-2010, 07:17 PM
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Saint Louis
Posts: 22
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default hard reset

Just for fun, I was going to do a hard reset.

The proceedure is: Unhook negative battery cable and touch to positive cable while the positive is still connected to battery??

Is that correct???

For 5-10 seconds or so?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-18-2010, 04:22 PM
Dinger's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: London England
Posts: 111
Thanked 17 Times in 14 Posts
Default

I think about 20-30 seconds is the usual time. Worked for me.
__________________
2000 XJ8 Sovereign LWB
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-18-2010, 07:00 PM
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Rockwall, TX
Posts: 4
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

OK, I give....wat's a hard reset? And what does it affect?

Michael~
2002 XJ8 VDP
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 06-18-2010, 07:52 PM
Veteran Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Ellijay
Posts: 4,190
Thanked 614 Times in 533 Posts
Default

Like your PC, the computers in the car sometime get 'confused' and need to be rebooted. Everything gets to start over at factory settings. The only thing that takes a day to get over is the fuel trim.

As described, touching the negative ground cable to the positive battery post discharges all the little capacitive voltages and 'reboots' all systems. Takes only a moment. No sparks, no arcs.
__________________
2002 XK8
2001 Honda GL1800A
1982 Volvo 245 Ford 302 V8 http://forums.turbobricks.com/showthread.php?t=250257
1981 Volvo Bertone Coupe - 25k original miles http://forums.turbobricks.com/showthread.php?t=256460
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 06-18-2010, 09:18 PM
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Saint Louis
Posts: 22
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Thanks TP, I appreciate it. Figure it can't hurt and have tried everything to get rid of all the codes.

I've found a few breather/vacuum issues and fixed those, but nothing has solved my codes. 1516, 443 & 507.

Still get failsafe, then limpmode w codes.
Cleaned tranny plug, MAF, TB, Part breather, "T" breather

Getting pretty frustrated with the whole situation.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 06-18-2010, 11:32 PM
StrateLoss's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Posts: 516
Thanks: 0
Thanked 7 Times in 7 Posts
Default

please, dont touch the negative cable to the positive battery terminal.

you want to ground out the power from the circuits to the chasis, not from the battery to the chasis. thats very dangerous !


disconnect the positive and negatives cables, and touch the 2 together. Even simple 1 seconds contact will be fine, but let them touch each other for 10 minutes to drain the power from the capacitors in the cars ecu's.

like I said, DONT touch the negative cable to the positive battery post.
__________________
2000 BRG Vanden Plas, 2010 ROP Civic SI Sedan
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 06-18-2010, 11:36 PM
StrateLoss's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Posts: 516
Thanks: 0
Thanked 7 Times in 7 Posts
Default

ok and one more thing, if this is a naturally aspirated XJ... On my fathers 2000 vdp I was getting all those codes. The limp home ,failsafe crap. Did all you mentioned, they went away with all the stuff you did.

from time to time I would still get a restricted performance, 2 months later bye bye a-drum in the transmission. first gear was gone.

Another member on here noted that he saved his transmission by getting the code read at a dealer and coming back for the trans. Got a new a-drum off of ebay for $240 and repaired it himself...

If the codes go away with the hard reboot, fine. If they come back, look into the transmission. Would suck having to spend $3000 when $900 w/labor with be better plus save you a break down.

-vic
__________________
2000 BRG Vanden Plas, 2010 ROP Civic SI Sedan
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 06-19-2010, 09:08 PM
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Saint Louis
Posts: 22
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by StrateLoss View Post
ok and one more thing, if this is a naturally aspirated XJ... On my fathers 2000 vdp I was getting all those codes. The limp home ,failsafe crap. Did all you mentioned, they went away with all the stuff you did.

from time to time I would still get a restricted performance, 2 months later bye bye a-drum in the transmission. first gear was gone.

Another member on here noted that he saved his transmission by getting the code read at a dealer and coming back for the trans. Got a new a-drum off of ebay for $240 and repaired it himself...

If the codes go away with the hard reboot, fine. If they come back, look into the transmission. Would suck having to spend $3000 when $900 w/labor with be better plus save you a break down.

-vic
Vic,

Great info. '99 xj8. Not sure if the reboot will help, but why not. I was a little suspect of neg to pos. Sounded like a bad idea, but I'm not in a position to argue.

Did his cruise work? This one doesn't. And yes, I blew $70 on a brake switch I didn't need. Prob just sell it.

I'm gonna blow propane around the various hoses/gaskets and see if I missed a leak.

I'm open to any suggestions.

Regards,

flyfish

Last edited by flyfish; 06-19-2010 at 09:09 PM. Reason: add info
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 06-19-2010, 10:06 PM
StrateLoss's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Posts: 516
Thanks: 0
Thanked 7 Times in 7 Posts
Default

I dont know, dont use cruise around here. too much traffic and tailgating.

But, if/when the codes pops up. the best thing you can do is go to the dealer to get it read. it will be the wisest $120 youve spent on the car if it infact does point to the transmission
__________________
2000 BRG Vanden Plas, 2010 ROP Civic SI Sedan
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 06-20-2010, 12:31 AM
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Saint Louis
Posts: 22
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I have a reader so I can see and clear codes. Unless autologic is gonna send up a flare from the trouble spot, i'm not sure what value the dealer can provide.

Not having any tranny issues that i'm aware of.

Last edited by flyfish; 06-20-2010 at 12:39 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 06-20-2010, 07:39 AM
ud
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 1,596
Thanks: 0
Thanked 92 Times in 63 Posts
Default

Disconnecting the battery, even forever, does not reset fault codes. This "Reset" or "reboot" process does not do what people have come to think it does.

Diagnose faults the correct way, using a scan tool, finding the fault and correcting, then resetting the code after any necessary monitor drive cycle is performed....now you're talking.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 06-20-2010, 09:52 AM
StrateLoss's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Posts: 516
Thanks: 0
Thanked 7 Times in 7 Posts
Default

Im guessing you have an OBD scanner, thats not going to read out Jaguar specific non emissions codes that Im aware of. When I had my "park brake fault" amber warning, took it to autzone for a free reading and got nothing. Came up like no light was on, because its a Jaguar code.

Now Jaguar can read those codes and can use it to see whats wrong and where.

My fathers 2000 had nothing wrong with the transmission, untill the minute it popped. But the codes kept coming on and the car felt normal. The other user on here described the same problem.

This is free advice, what can I say. But that blown 1st gear on my dads car pretty much ended that cars life. We wont fix it, and will probably end up being away to someone. And it was a beautiful british racing green VDP.... a shame IMO.

-vic
__________________
2000 BRG Vanden Plas, 2010 ROP Civic SI Sedan
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 06-20-2010, 11:45 AM
Brutal's Avatar
Photobucket
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Sugar Land /Houston, Texas
Posts: 5,806
Thanked 1,084 Times in 767 Posts
BILL BRUTON
Default

wow I guess Ive been doing a hard reboot wrong all these past 13 years........
For ya'll that dont remember, you have to have a COMPLETE circuit for power to flow. If the negative(or pos) is unhooked from the battery you can touch the DISCONNECTED negative to the STILL CONNECTED(or visa/versa) Positive. There is not a complete circuit and no power flows. you can disconnect both if you feel more comfortable, but its not neccessary, it just takes more time. The reason I and others say disc the negative is 2 reasons
1) it useally the closest and easiest to access
2) theres is useally little or nothing else hooked to it
The reason it works on the capacitors is THEY still have a complete circuit on the car so you are giving their positive terminal a path to ground to discharge them. And since the ignition provides a mechanical link to circuits that are isolated. You can/should also switch the key to the on position while the battery is unhooked and hard reboot again. Then shut off the key and go back and reconnect the battery.....and no a hard reboot will not clear codes on ODBII. While it MIGHT, turn off a check engine light(depending on WHAT, the stored codes are) they DO NOT go away. There are codes that will only show when active/pending, and if you shut off the ignition they may not show even with Jaguars IDS(again it depends on the code/situation)
__________________
Working for those that do not every day
Reply With Quote
The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to Brutal For This Useful Post:
adriaxj8 (04-26-2012), cavalry1998 (03-27-2011), wesmc2 (09-05-2011)
  #14  
Old 06-20-2010, 01:13 PM
StrateLoss's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Posts: 516
Thanks: 0
Thanked 7 Times in 7 Posts
Default

There, BRUTAL cleared it up. When I did mine I just disconnected both. Didnt chance it because I didnt know any better.
__________________
2000 BRG Vanden Plas, 2010 ROP Civic SI Sedan
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 06-20-2010, 03:58 PM
ud
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 1,596
Thanks: 0
Thanked 92 Times in 63 Posts
Default

Precisely on OBD codes. They can be present and readable. They are stored in non-volatile memory, But the display is not. So, disconnecting the battery might erase the display but not the fault. Does nothing to complete a drive cycle, does nothing to fix a mechanical issue. It does screw up all the radio mode settings and other customer selectable settings.
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 06-21-2010, 07:56 AM
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Saint Louis
Posts: 22
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I am able to read and clear the codes as they come up w my reader. Only nothing i've fixed keeps 1516 from reappearing.

I don't dissagree there may be additional Jag codes I can't see keeping me from the ultimate fix.

I can't find many occurances of 1516 and its possible solutions.

I do have a wheel vibration and one of the possible faults has to do with the speed sensor. Possible connection??
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 06-21-2010, 08:40 AM
Veteran Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Ellijay
Posts: 4,190
Thanked 614 Times in 533 Posts
Default P1516

Did I miss something or this the first mention of P1516?

P1516

Transmission rotary switch to ECM open circuit or high resistance.

Rotary Switch failure

D-4 switch to TCM open circuit or high resistance

D-4 switch fault
__________________
2002 XK8
2001 Honda GL1800A
1982 Volvo 245 Ford 302 V8 http://forums.turbobricks.com/showthread.php?t=250257
1981 Volvo Bertone Coupe - 25k original miles http://forums.turbobricks.com/showthread.php?t=256460
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 06-21-2010, 10:37 AM
StrateLoss's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Posts: 516
Thanks: 0
Thanked 7 Times in 7 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by flyfish View Post
Thanks TP, I appreciate it. Figure it can't hurt and have tried everything to get rid of all the codes.

I've found a few breather/vacuum issues and fixed those, but nothing has solved my codes. 1516, 443 & 507.

Still get failsafe, then limpmode w codes.
Cleaned tranny plug, MAF, TB, Part breather, "T" breather

Getting pretty frustrated with the whole situation.
testpoint he mentioned it right here
__________________
2000 BRG Vanden Plas, 2010 ROP Civic SI Sedan
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 06-21-2010, 12:17 PM
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Saint Louis
Posts: 22
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

TP,
I also had a 1516 thread where you suggested I cleanded the plug going into the transmission, which I did.

I know the potential causes, just don't know what they are to check : "rotary switch", "D-4" switch etc
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 06-21-2010, 01:28 PM
Veteran Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Ellijay
Posts: 4,190
Thanked 614 Times in 533 Posts
Default

The 'Drive to Fourth' (D-4) switch is in the shift console.

The 'rotary switch' is located on the right side of the transmission.

I would suggest that you down load the JTIS free from this forum and take a look. While some have the software to cut-n-paste the drawings from JTIS I have never found out how to do that.

http://jaguarforums.com/forum/showthread.php?t=9933
__________________
2002 XK8
2001 Honda GL1800A
1982 Volvo 245 Ford 302 V8 http://forums.turbobricks.com/showthread.php?t=250257
1981 Volvo Bertone Coupe - 25k original miles http://forums.turbobricks.com/showthread.php?t=256460
Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2010, 01:28 PM
 
 
 
Reply



Tags
02, abs, ecu, failsafe, hard, jag, jaguar, neutral, plas, reset, speed, switch, transducer, vanden, vdp, xj8



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Advertising

Featured Sponsors
Vendor Directory
Our Sponsors
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:57 AM.

Copyright © 2010 Internet Brands, Inc. All rights reserved.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014 vBulletin Solutions, Inc. All rights reserved.
JAGUAR and its logo are the registered trademarks of Jaguar Cars Limited. Jaguar Cars Limited is not affiliated with JaguarForums.com.