VelocityAP ECU Tuning for Jaguar F-Pace V6, V8, 2.0T - Jaguar Forums - Jaguar Enthusiasts Forum

Go Back  Jaguar Forums - Jaguar Enthusiasts Forum > Jaguar Models ( Current ) > F-Pace (X761) / C-X17
Reload this Page >

VelocityAP ECU Tuning for Jaguar F-Pace V6, V8, 2.0T

Notices
F-Pace (X761) / C-X17 2016 - Onwards

VelocityAP ECU Tuning for Jaguar F-Pace V6, V8, 2.0T

Reply

 
 
 
  #1  
Old 02-16-2017, 05:08 PM
Stuart@VelocityAP's Avatar
Sponsor
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 1,099
Thanked 336 Times in 233 Posts
Default VelocityAP ECU Tuning for Jaguar F-Pace V6, V8, 2.0T

Hello All,

We have been speaking with a number of you by phone & email, but I thought it would be helpful to initiate a thread for the F-Pace, similar to this one we have running on the F-Type, so we can hopefully answer some questions and people can use it as an FAQ of sorts:
VelocityAP Jaguar F-Type ECU Tuning, V6, V6S, V8S, V8R

If you have a quick browse of the F-Type thread you'll see that we have some great software developed for the 3.0L Supercharged V6 already. The net results are:

ECU Tuning: 340-416BHP
ECU Tuning + Supercharger Overdrive Pulley: 340BHP-453BHP

How is the software installed?
VelocityAP sends you a VTech hand-held touch screen programmer, which is included with the cost of the tune. This programmer pairs to the vehicle and allows you to read the OEM file, email to us for modification, and flash the MOD file back onto the car.

Can I switch back to the original file?
Yes, the VTech ALWAYS stores your original file + up to 5 modified files. So you can use the device to switch between original & modified files at any time.

Why a Crank Pulley and not a Supercharger Pulley like on the V8?
The stock V6 supercharger pulley is already smaller than the stock pulley on a 5.0L V8 Supercharged. As a result, reduction in size requires the supercharger snout to be shaved, and only yields 3/4 of a lb of additional boost. It is a lot of work for not a lot of return. Consequently, the V6 is best served by removing the crank pulley and bolting on our larger pulley to increase the supercharger drive. The Crank Pulley kit includes a new tensioner pulley and belt.

Can I do the tune to begin with and add the Crank Pulley Later?
Yes you can. If you are planning to upgrade the crank pulley later, just let us know when requesting your file and we will send you both files to upload to the VTech at the same time. You can update the software later when the crank pulley is installed.

In addition to more BHP and torque, what other things can be changed?
- RPM Limit Adjustment
- Auto Stop/Start Deactivation
- Sport Cat Integration
- Throttle Sensitivity
- Speed Limiter Adjustment

This software is already live on our website and available for purchase. Bear in mind the dyno charts here show the software we developed on the XF-V6S, already making 380BHP. Since this engine is identical apart from software to the 340BHP version, there is an additional 40BHP available for the base V6:
Jaguar XE V6 Supercharged ECU Tune

Crank Pulleys are in production & will be available in a couple of weeks. They are currently available on pre-purchase at a 25% discount using coupon code 'JAGCPLAUNCH' : Jaguar F-Type V6 & V8 Supercharger Crank Pulley

We will be announcing a 'launch' special pricing offer in the next couple of days with a hefty discount on the F-Pace. Stay posted.
 
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-17-2017, 11:59 AM
Stuart@VelocityAP's Avatar
Sponsor
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 1,099
Thanked 336 Times in 233 Posts
Default

Well, that didn't take long. Thanks very much to a forum member from Oklahoma for calling last night & ordering a tune for his 340BHP FPace. Going to enjoy another 76BHP I'm sure.

Our Launch Special on FPace tunes is live. Use coupon code FPACELAUNCH for 30% off either tuning to 416BHP or crank pulley + tune up to 450BHP until March 1st:

Jaguar F-Pace V6 & V6S Crank Pulley + ECU Tune

Jaguar F-Pace V6 & V6S Supercharged ECU Tune
 
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-17-2017, 06:14 PM
DPK's Avatar
DPK
DPK is offline
Veteran Member
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: OKC, OK
Posts: 3,115
Thanked 507 Times in 375 Posts
Default

Hi Stuart,

I forgot to ask..

Here in OKC, we can only get 91 Octane..will this tune still work with substantial gains on this octane level?

Thanks
 
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-17-2017, 06:53 PM
Stuart@VelocityAP's Avatar
Sponsor
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 1,099
Thanked 336 Times in 233 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by DPK View Post
Hi Stuart,

I forgot to ask..

Here in OKC, we can only get 91 Octane..will this tune still work with substantial gains on this octane level?

Thanks
Yes it is just fine. We are able to make a couple of small changes to timing, only costs 2 or 3 HP.
 
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 02-19-2017, 09:54 AM
theweeb's Avatar
Senior Member
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Carolina Beach, NC
Posts: 242
Thanked 47 Times in 36 Posts
Default

Another question, are octane boosters a reliable substitute? 91 is about the best we can do here, and I would rather have the extra ponies and add a bottle of booster at each fill up. One more - - - special mapping for altitude? Here in Denver, as you probably know, we are at some 5,280 ft above sea level.
 
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 02-20-2017, 07:37 PM
Veteran Member
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Orlando, Florida
Posts: 1,050
Thanked 335 Times in 170 Posts
Default

The only additive I trust is RACE GAS | Racing Fuel Concentrate

I will never use any other additive. Otherwise I just use real race fuels like VP and FTW in unleaded form for the Cat.
 
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 03-07-2017, 01:42 PM
DPK's Avatar
DPK
DPK is offline
Veteran Member
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: OKC, OK
Posts: 3,115
Thanked 507 Times in 375 Posts
Default

I did the TUNE and it is everything Stuart claims it would be..so glad I did it..
Exhilarating results..it installed flawlessly..with zero problems or issues..Except a whole lot more power.
 

Last edited by DPK; 03-07-2017 at 01:44 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 03-08-2017, 09:00 AM
Member
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: NJ
Posts: 49
Thanked 9 Times in 6 Posts
Default

Would be nice if you do a 0-60 test.
 
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Dabitz For This Useful Post:
theweeb (03-08-2017)
  #9  
Old 03-08-2017, 05:11 PM
theweeb's Avatar
Senior Member
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Carolina Beach, NC
Posts: 242
Thanked 47 Times in 36 Posts
Default

@DPK, how about a 0-60 test?
 
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 03-09-2017, 08:33 AM
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 174
Thanked 56 Times in 30 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by DPK View Post
Hi Stuart,

I forgot to ask..

Here in OKC, we can only get 91 Octane..will this tune still work with substantial gains on this octane level?

Thanks
Kept meaning to reply to this sooner..

In OKC you only have 91? I was around Edmond and could of sworn the VP Gas stations had higher then that..plus you guys can get real fuel (even the smell is pure), not watered down additive fuel's with E10 to E15 added inside.
 
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 03-09-2017, 01:14 PM
DPK's Avatar
DPK
DPK is offline
Veteran Member
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: OKC, OK
Posts: 3,115
Thanked 507 Times in 375 Posts
Default

O-60..I would say without the special stop watches etc..I got there in about 5 secs.

Of course pinned to the seat like a space launch.


I can only buy 91AKI at a Shell station, 100% pure gas..

We use to have a Sinclair that sold 93AKI a few years ago, but there are none around me anymore
 
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 03-17-2017, 01:41 PM
Member
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Pasadena
Posts: 83
Thanked 10 Times in 8 Posts
Default

As a F-Type owner and customer of Velocity, let me add that Chris and Stewart have provided tremendous support to the F-Type community here and their products (tunes, springs, etc.) have proven top notch. If you read through the postings over in the other channel, you will see a lot of happy customers of theirs.

For anyone sitting on the fence, concern about the quality of their work should not hold you back.
 
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 03-17-2017, 03:38 PM
Member
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: NJ
Posts: 49
Thanked 9 Times in 6 Posts
Default

Stock is 5.1 and 5.4 secs. It would be helpful to gather some more specific data before taking the plunge. Does this put the 340 into the 4's?
 
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 03-17-2017, 07:18 PM
Member
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Pasadena
Posts: 83
Thanked 10 Times in 8 Posts
Default

For the F-type, yes. I can't speak for the impact to the F-Pace.
 
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 03-19-2017, 07:02 PM
DPK's Avatar
DPK
DPK is offline
Veteran Member
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: OKC, OK
Posts: 3,115
Thanked 507 Times in 375 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by Dabitz View Post
Stock is 5.1 and 5.4 secs. It would be helpful to gather some more specific data before taking the plunge. Does this put the 340 into the 4's?
Well Dab..I gave the best shot today..down a nice straight quiet road...Best result I can give with a digital stop watch @ 0 to 60, was consistently of four runs...4.6 to 4.7 secs...

If fractions of second in a drag race time is all that is holding you up...then appears you are looking for excuses not to go with the tune...But the overall driving experience that is now exhilarating, isn't enough of reason to go with it, as reported from others that have reported on the tune......well, I don't know what else to say to ya..
 
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 03-19-2017, 07:29 PM
Member
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: NJ
Posts: 49
Thanked 9 Times in 6 Posts
Default

Not bad at all... I appreciate the effort. Seems totally worth it, but now the coupon is gone. Aagh.
 
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 03-20-2017, 06:58 AM
DPK's Avatar
DPK
DPK is offline
Veteran Member
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: OKC, OK
Posts: 3,115
Thanked 507 Times in 375 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by Dabitz View Post
Not bad at all... I appreciate the effort. Seems totally worth it, but now the coupon is gone. Aagh.
I bet if you call Stuart..(Nice Guy)...He may be willing to throw you a bone on the deal..Maybe..can't be sure, but maybe worth a call.
 
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 03-20-2017, 08:30 AM
Member
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: NJ
Posts: 49
Thanked 9 Times in 6 Posts
Default

I didn't have to call, the coupon worked. You are a trouble maker DPK, I ordered mine.
 
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 03-20-2017, 09:29 AM
DPK's Avatar
DPK
DPK is offline
Veteran Member
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: OKC, OK
Posts: 3,115
Thanked 507 Times in 375 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by Dabitz View Post
I didn't have to call, the coupon worked. You are a trouble maker DPK, I ordered mine.
Happy to help..You'll love it
 
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 04-06-2017, 10:40 PM
Gerald Feschuk's Avatar
Junior Member
Join Date: Feb 2017
Posts: 15
Thanks: 0
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
Default

any juicy bits for the 2.0d??
 
Reply With Quote

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Advertising
Featured Sponsors
Vendor Directory

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
 
  • Ask a Question
    Get answers from community experts
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: