F-Type ( X152 ) 2014 - Onwards
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Jaguar F Type R dilemma

Search this Thread

Old 10-18-2015, 09:23 AM
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Jaguar F Type R dilemma

I have been eyeing the FTR for the past 4 months. I test drove it the other day. Awesome handling, performance, and exhaust sound. Beautiful exterior, which is hard to beat. I was looking to order the FTR with carbon ceramic brakes.
My biggest hang up is the interior. I am having a hard time getting over the fake carbon ceramic look, the cheap plastic parts, and lack of technology. Yes I understand the sport car purists just care about the driving experience, but I would expect a luxury brand like Jaguar for $120k to be much better quality. Btw, I own a 2012 XFR with beautiful real carbon fiber interior and lack of cheap plastic parts that I paid $86k new.
I also wanted to check out the Merc GT S AMG so I drove across the street to the MB dealer. They didn't have the GT S but what caught my eye was a black on black new model GLE 63s AMG coupe for $120k loaded. I know it is a completely different car then the FTR, but interior was beautiful and technology was amazing. 5.5L biturbo V8 with 577 HP 561 lb torque. It had the AMG performance exhaust on it which sounded almost like the FTR. Handling and driving experience is different bc it's 5200lbs.

Why doesn't Jaguar step up and put at least the same type of quality interior as the XFR that costs $20-30k less?i Is there any other luxury brand that sells a car for over $100k and puts that type of interior in it? l will probably wait for the 2017 model to come out to see if anything changes. Your guys thoughts on this? Anyone else bothered by this?

Old 10-18-2015, 09:52 AM
Veteran Member
Received 1,584 Likes on 856 Posts

I'll let others expound in a more detailed if not articulate way - and, for the most part, I see where you're coming from (literally and figuratively) - but here's my quick take:

It is what it is.