General Tech Help Good at troubleshooting? Have a non specific issue? Discuss general tech topics here.

could the electric heating windshield be screwing with my radar detector?

Search this Thread

Old 09-07-2016, 09:13 PM
Veteran Member
Received 205 Likes on 188 Posts
Default could the electric heating windshield be screwing with my radar detector?

I've been using a cobra brand radar detector in my BMW for the past 2 years and never had any issues. it isnt the best detector in the world....but definitely has saved my behind a few times.

ive recently transferred it over to my XFR and this week I had 2 VERY close calls and my radar detector didnt make a beep. in both cases i was doing 90-110 with the cop clearly parked on the side of the highway with his radar gun out.

in the first instance, i figured maybe he was just bluffing to get people to slow down, but he actually ended up pulling the guy behind me over. second instance same thing, sitting clear as day on the side of the road with his radar gun out

i cant think of a reason why my detector wouldnt pick up on it TWICE. the detector is picking up bogus KA signals, so at least i know its working. I dont have a front plate yet as I am waiting for new plates...but i dont think that would be the issue. The only thing I can tell is different is the windshield, which I have the electric heating one. could that be interfering with the signals? another guess is that I have it sitting too low on the window

anyone else having weird experiences with their detectors?

Last edited by GGG; 09-12-2016 at 01:03 AM. Reason: Edit three typos in thread title
Old 09-11-2016, 08:52 PM
rbr
Received 48 Likes on 33 Posts

In short, yes. The heating elements block RF signals from passing the glass, so they also mess up toll transponders. There is a much more comprehensive thread somewhere on the forum.

The following users liked this post:
JimC64 (09-12-2016)
Old 09-12-2016, 08:32 AM
Veteran Member

........crap.