Interior What have you done to the inside of your ride? Customized it? Kept it super clean? Talk about it here.

Repair and recondition your seats

Search this Thread

Old 03-15-2011, 11:02 PM
Received 18 Likes on 8 Posts
Default Repair and recondition your seats

Anyone out there with wear marks on their leather seats, I may have a solution for you worth considering. My XJR is off-white, and it looked a little ragged. The previous owner took very good care of the car, but did not do much for the interior, perhaps because he was the only one who basically ever used it. So, the drivers seat showed some wear, with dark lines where the dye had come off, and many cracks between the perforations, running in diagonal dark lines. When completed, it looks as good as the seats that we never sat on, and they all look better, feel better, and smell better.

Disclaimer: I am not a leather professional, just did this on my own, and amazingly, it worked extremely well without me totally screwing it up. But, if I could do it, likely so could you, but proceed at your own risk.

CLEAN
First step was cleaning the leather well. A quick vacuume job to get up the big stuff. Then I used Simple Green to do the heavy lifting, with an interior brush and plenty of clean white cotton rags to get all the cleaner off and dry it up. Don't let this type cleaner sit too long, work it wet, the get it off. Use the brush in all the cracks and seams. When done, it was much brighter, but the dark lines were even more noticable.

CONDITION