New Member Area - Intro a MUST New to Jaguar Forums? Drop in and tell us about you, your ride and location. This is your chance to introduce yourself to the forum.

From a Maserati GT to F Type S !

Search this Thread

Old 04-04-2017, 07:20 AM
AJF
Received 29 Likes on 17 Posts
Default From a Maserati GT to F Type S !

Hi All,

I just bought a 2015 with 6K miles in white, pretty well loaded and I really love it! I've been driving Maserati's for the last 5 years; a used 2008 and presently a 2014. The 08 had a 4.2L and was pretty slow, I made the mistake of test driving a new 14' which has a 4.7L and I quickly sold the 08' and leased the 14' which ends this month. I absolutely loved the Maser but I was ready for something different and the F Type was at the top of the list!

What I like about the F Type over the GT:
Much better handling
More contemporary styling
Much better stereo and infotainment (the GT's is ancient in comparison)
Panoramic roof
Seats

What I'll miss about the Maserati:
4 seats. The back seats are very usable and my adult kids would sometimes ride with us
More spacious and slightly more comfortable on long drives
I think the styling is timeless
Huge, column mounted, metal paddles (Jag should change this on such an expensive car)
The V8 sound which is incredible (similar to the R)

The only thing that I am really surprised about with the Jag V6 is how the power just drops like a rock in the higher revs. The Maser has a pretty flat power band all the way up. I was expecting them to be much closer in that respect, yes the GT has a V8 with 454 HP but it's a much bigger, heavier car.
I'm hoping the VAP tune will help in that respect. If not I'll drive it for a while and then look for an R.

Personally, I'm a commercial photographer with a studio in Manhattan, I recently downsized and moved from NY to CT.
Tony

Last edited by AJF; 04-04-2017 at 07:50 AM.
The following users liked this post:
GGG (04-04-2017)
Old 04-04-2017, 08:10 AM
GGG