Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

'03 STR -- Big Problem...

Search this Thread

Old 08-26-2009, 06:35 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default '03 STR -- Big Problem...

Hi all -- newbie here.

I own a 2003 STR with 67k miles on it -- and I love it. It's my favorite car I've ever owned, by far.

But...

I was driving along one day and the engine started to tap. No oil light, no code. I was withine a mile of my local repair shop, so I took it in.

They discovered it was low on oil (not even on the stick), and did an oil change. The tapping stopped. Yay!! It ran great for a week - no noise.

Then I drove it on a 50-mile trip. Still no problems, until I went to restart it 4 hours later.

Tapping, louder -- maybe knocking. I shut it off and called for a tow.

The local shop took a look, but were a but intimidated by the car. They spent a couple of days looking for someone who knew more about Jags for me. (These are really good guys -- very trustworthy)... They found a guy close to me, so I had the car towed there.

The owner listened to the car and said that he was pretty sure it was the timing chain. Said he's replaced a few of them on these. He said that he would run a compression test, and if that checked out, he pull it apart to replace the chain and gears.

Okay, at this point I'm feeling pretty good. I'm an old hot rod / muscle car guy, and I've built motors -- so far this is sounding okay to me. I understood it wouldn't be cheap, but my dirty-hands days are far behind me, and at least he didn't think it was any more serious than that.

That was a week ago.

Today they called - they told me they had "listened" to it, and it needs a motor. "Probably spun a bearing", the guy says. My options are a junkyard motor with 65k on it for 8500 installed, or a new one from Jag for 10.5k installed. The junkyard one would cost 5500 and comes complete with the supercharger. The one from Jag is an assembled short block, from what he tells me.