S-Type / S type R Supercharged V8 ( X200 ) 1999 - 2008 2001 - 2009
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

05 STR thrown into limp mode on highway HELP!

Search this Thread

Old 03-30-2009, 10:30 AM
Received 26 Likes on 13 Posts
Default 05 STR thrown into limp mode on highway HELP!

Hey all, I am new to the Jag community coming from a Porshe and an Infinit FX45. I recently bought an 05 black SType R and had a serious issue last night.

Crusing home on the highway going about 70MPH, not accelerating nor coasting, just maintaining speed. The engine basically shut down, and I had to pull onto the shoulder, it was very dangerous and frankly, it freaked me out. While on the side of the road I realized that it was idling at about 1100 rpm's, barely moved even thought the accelerator was depressed to the floor, engine light on, as well as "engine systems fault, parkbrake fault, dsc not available" showing up on the dash. I restarted the car about 4-5 times and it eventually got out of "safe mode", I am assuming, but the check engine light remained on. It returned to regular idle and actually drove. Regardless I got it towed to my house because I didnt want to chance it. When it arrived, i got back in the car, started it up and not only did it start up and drive normal, but there was NO check engine light whatsoever. I am very perplexed that a car would just shut down on the highway, put itself into "Limp Mode" and be absolutely fine a half hour later. Does not make sense to me AT ALL! I called Jaguar and they have no clue, they just told me to bring it in. It just came off of warrenty so If at all possible I am hoping you guys can help me out. NOTE: it was raining lightly last night, didnt hit a big puddle or anything, but it had been raining all day.

Thanks for any and all information in advance!

Joe

Old 03-30-2009, 11:20 AM
Veteran Member
Received 33 Likes on 17 Posts