S-Type / S type R Supercharged V8 ( X200 ) 1999 - 2008 2001 - 2009
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

diagnostics cable , software need Advice!

Search this Thread

Old 11-16-2016, 08:08 AM
Received 16 Likes on 11 Posts
Default diagnostics cable , software need Advice!

good morning guys! I'm a newbie to the jaguar community. however I owned audis, and bmw and done many DIY'S projects my self . so I guess I have been exposed to this beautiful foreign vehicles . I'm buying a 2005 S type 3.0 from a car auction , which I know will be a project !!

need advice getting proper diagnostics tools such as cables , software which I know I will need to diagnose any issues
where do you guys get your cables or software ? I also have three computers with windows 7 , windows 10 and also windows xp..

gracias-

Old 11-16-2016, 03:06 PM
Received 133 Likes on 125 Posts

This a difficult question to answer as you will get many opinions.
I use a icarsoft i930 to read most codes onautomatic setting. This device does not read the engine codes for this I use an elm 327 with the program from eobd facile. This program reads the engine codes using the jaguar dtc.

Finally I also have a mongoose clone which works with the jaguar sdd/ids program to diagnose and program. To use this device on the s type before 2005 you need to use an older version. Than what comes with the device.

The best version is the 1.30 which is virus free can be found here on the British jaguar forum as t this post.mongoose v130

Old 11-16-2016, 04:41 PM

yes I will probably look at purchasing the icarsoft I930 I believe this one does ABS and air bags lights and codes right ! and also mongoose clone for diagnosing and programming too.

thanks Ducmon

Old 11-17-2016, 03:07 AM

I never used the icarsoft to check the airbags but it worked very well on the abs.

When you get a mongoose don't use the disks that come with it except for the driver.