Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Diesels - Demons or Angels?

Search this Thread

Old 12-24-2013, 02:17 AM
Veteran Member
Received 4,484 Likes on 3,902 Posts
Default Diesels - Demons or Angels?

Risky to buy any diesel with a DPF as I reckon that will definitely have. Too many problems. Read up on the net about destroyed engines. I wouldn't have one given if I had to drive it.

Old 12-24-2013, 04:39 AM
Received 13 Likes on 10 Posts

I'm pretty clued up when it comes to turbo Diesel engine. I've not had the 2.7 though. Diesel is diesel though. You can get the dpf delete and even run with a de-cat here in GB. As long as the exhaust system looks complete. (You can knock the guts out). These are things I have both done to previous diesels I have owned. Glow plugs tips can brake and get stuck. If they arn't lubed up prior to fitting (I use a smear of copper grease) As I'm an avid and experienced DIYer. (I'm an engineer working in the sub sea gas n oil industry).
Simple things like vacuum leaks can throw limp mode, EGR valves can clog. Engines can over run consuming the engine oil as fuel until self destruction (Not by any means a common occurrence). leak off pipes can perish and go bad, swirl flaps can have issues.
I'll do a little research into the 2.7 common problems. Most Diesels are pretty bullet proof. Preventative maintenance with regular oil changes with a good quality oil should see a good diesel engine 2 or 3X around the clock.
PS. By Knocking the Guts out of the cat and DPF you also free up some Horses as the engine can breath more easily. I have even introduced a second cold air feed with a sports free flowing air filter to help with the breathing.

Last edited by Steve_Jaggar; 12-24-2013 at 04:44 AM.
The following users liked this post:
JimC64 (12-24-2013)
Old 12-24-2013, 05:32 AM
Veteran Member

Er, you know the DPF is required by law (everywhere in the EU) and an MoT failure if deleted (*), starting soon?