S-Type / S type R Supercharged V8 ( X200 ) 1999 - 2008 2001 - 2009
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Not all brake rotors are equal

Search this Thread

Old 04-24-2014, 04:40 PM
Received 181 Likes on 138 Posts
Default Not all brake rotors are equal

Pads are down to 30%, there's a shimmy on the steering wheel when I brake lightly, and I plan to overhaul the front brakes in a few months time. Saw good reports about brakeperformance.com and their prices are great. Everything seemed right until I saw the (edited) review below.

Does anyone have any comments on the technical points made, or the comments about quality and design of rotors from brakeperformance.com. Would I be better off skimming my OEM rotors instead of replacing them with an aftermarket product? And if I did get new rotors, should they be slotted?

"I am a 50 year old engineer and have been doing my own maintenance since I started driving cars. I work in sales and get mileage in excess of 40K per year. I use aftermarket rotors, as the stock ones are too expensive for what you get.

It recently came time to redo my front brakes as I have nearly 90K on my last brake job with Concept R1 rotors. Right now they shimmy the car because of the uneven coefficient of friction around the rotor, probably due to pad material that is unevenly distributed across the rotors. I could possibly get this skimmed out, but this would cost nearly as much as new rotors. And having slotted rotors turned is always a roll of the dice as well.