S-Type / S type R Supercharged V8 ( X200 ) 1999 - 2008 2001 - 2009
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

(Possible) Transmission Issues, 2000 3.0 S-Type

Search this Thread

Old 11-16-2014, 03:52 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default (Possible) Transmission Issues, 2000 3.0 S-Type

Let me start out by thanking everyone on this forum for all their incredibly helpful and quick advice!

Let me continue by stating: I am a 1st year elementary teacher, so I'm very limited on money and time. Taking my Jag to a shop is not a reality for the time being, so I'm trying to do as many repairs by myself as possible; this forum has been a saving grace!

That being said, I've read about how finiky the transmission can become due to a variety of non-tranny issues. So here goes:

-I recently replaced a bad upper-breather tube below the upper elbow which seems to have fixed a vacuum leak that was occurring. I checked the lower elbow, which was fine.

-This was covering a misfire issue. I've replaced all 6 spark plugs and the driver side coils (the passenger side coils will have to wait until December). The engine runs very smooth now and feels completely different in the best way.

Prior to these fixes, the transmission would have difficulty engaging from P, R, or N when cold. There was also a 3-5 second engagement delay. Shifting to 2/3/4/D would not fix the problem. The vehicle would drive like it was stuck inbetween D/N. After driving for a while, reshifting into D would usually solve the issue, and this problem would disappear after the car was warm and running a bit.