Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Replace Radio Unit S-type 1999

Search this Thread

Old 02-22-2016, 05:49 PM
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Replace Radio Unit S-type 1999

Dear Readers,

Im new to the jaguar and this forum ;-) I have read most of the forum concerning this topic, but couldnt find an answer to my question.

Like i said, i own a 1999 Jaguar S-Type. It has a Visteon 9000 europe premium unit in it (with cd changer). I want to replace that unit with a double din navi/radio unit. However, i cant seem to find the correct wiring harness to do this. I like to keep it integrated with the steering wheel buttons for phone/audio if (at all) possible.

Someone knows a solution to this ?

thanks in advance for your answer(s) !
Pat.

Old 02-22-2016, 05:53 PM

Ow, forgot to post the pic. Its attached to this post.

regards,
Pat

Old 02-23-2016, 07:11 AM
Veteran Member
Received 160 Likes on 132 Posts

It was a pipe dream for me as well. No, there is not an aftermarket adapter harness for us. The only workaround is to get a hold of an old donor unit, remove the rear panel, and use the connectors to make your own rig. This is due to the power feeders to the external amps, CD changer controls, plus the steering wheel controls.

Companies like Sosche and Metra must believe that there is too low of a volume to develop one for us, with the premium sound option. I even asked a dealer if they could retrofit a new head unit....and he gave me a look like I was under the influence of a mind altering drug.

Another workaround is to start from scratch, by bypassing the external amps, and hardwiring power connections, and running new speaker wires, camera, GPS antenna, etc.

Bottom line: No plug and Play for us.

Old 02-23-2016, 11:20 AM

Hey Warspite,

Thank you for replying. Well that's a bummer, my thoughts where that it would be pretty easy to do, i thought wrong by the looks of it ;-(