S-Type / S type R Supercharged V8 ( X200 ) 1999 - 2008 2001 - 2009
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

S-Type 4.0 overheating

Search this Thread

Old 07-24-2013, 12:18 AM
Received 5 Likes on 2 Posts
Default S-Type 4.0 overheating

Hi I'm a newbie jaguar owner and poster, I have a 2000 S-Type 4.0 L with 160,000km it is in very nice shape inside and out but I bought it with some existing engine trouble of overheating and a pats alarm code 16 causing the car to be immobilized, I think I have fixed the alarm code 16 by making sure the battery is fully charged and the code goes away then the engine will start but the main problem is overheating. The water pump has been replaced nothing seemed to be wrong with the old after removing it and the thermostat was replaced as well,
still overheats... I properly bleed the air out of the system and it seems to be fine at idle but when I take it out on the road and give it a little test it seems as soon as I step on it a bit the temp gauge goes from proper half way operation right up to the red very quickly and it blows coolant out the lid of the reservoir tank, I pull over right away let the engine cool (it is hot) and when I take the fill/bleeder cap off the little tower on the engine just above the thermostat it's full of air again and again, this happens every time. I think it's filling up with air or exhaust gas which causes the thermostat to close and the engine quickly overheats... How can the coolant system keep filling up with air over and over 6 times so far for me, is the head gasket blown and causing this...

Thanks for your reply
Dave

Old 07-24-2013, 01:14 AM
Received 53 Likes on 44 Posts

Hi Dave, it does sound like a blown head gasket, but have you had the header tank and the exhaust fumes analysed?

The following users liked this post:
DaveW (07-26-2013)
Old 07-24-2013, 01:16 AM
Veteran Member
Received 4,484 Likes on 3,902 Posts