Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

02 x-type questions and opinions wanted from a total noob

Search this Thread

Old 01-30-2010, 02:18 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 02 x-type questions and opinions wanted from a total noob

hello!
first of all, i apologize in advance for the complete noob-ness of my account and post.
here is the deal:
my name is scott, and i currently own an audi A4. i used to own a TT, a few bimmers, and other euro rides. im quite active in the VW-audi forums. anyway...
my father owns an 02 x-type (black with the "blackout" package). he has fallen ill with diabetes, and due to this he can no longer drive because he has no circulation in his feet and cannot "feel the pedals".
because of this, he crashed his jag a few months back into a mailbox near his house, and that was the end of his driving. 2 months and 7500 in repair bills later, the car is now looking and driving great.
because he can no longer drive, he is looking to sell the car and only wants around 6000 for it. perfect condition, new trans at 50K under warranty, all service records. completely repainted.
we have a family friend who has it at a dealership trying to sell it, but the demand must be low because he hasnt had any offers yet.
i have an 03 audi A4 for my personal car, and i love it. i have no plans to sell it.
my father was always a "car guy" and he was practically in tears when it came to the point where he realized he needed to end his driving career.
because he and i share the love of cars, i am thinking of trying to just buy this thing myself and keep it in the family. but i have a few questions.
please take pity on a noob and let me know if i should do this.
1. i feel like for 6000 bucks, that's a lot of car for the money. its got 79K on it and could probably last a long time. thoughts?