X-Type ( X400 ) 2001 - 2009
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

2002 X-type 2.5 manual Trans Cranks but no Start.

Search this Thread

Old 06-09-2019, 10:17 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 2002 X-type 2.5 manual Trans Cranks but no Start.

Hi everybody!

new owner of a 02 x type. got it cheap. Long story short ran great until PO drove to work, worked then tried to start it and it wouldn't start. now its been to 4 mechanics and one at the ford dealership says its jumped time. I don't believe thats the case. Car is throwing code Pecus "E" DSC failure and P1637. i think something is wrong with the ecm. im a pretty decent mechanic and i hope this isnt a mechanical timing issue. anyone have any advice? steps to troubleshoot the pecus code perhaps also if i can pinpoint it to the ecm where to get a ecm, cluster and key from the same car or where can i get the ecm fixed?

Thanks in advance!
Adam.

Old 06-10-2019, 06:44 AM
Veteran member
Received 3,823 Likes on 3,142 Posts

Adam, remember that it takes 3 things to make an engine run, compression, fuel, and timing. I would start with simply spraying some starter fluid into the intake and seeing if you can get the motor to start catching. In most cases, you should be able to get the motor to run for a few seconds with a healthy spray of starter fluid into the intake. if you can do this, then odds are, your problem is going to be either a bad fuel filter or a failed fuel pump. The idiot check I would do before replacing the fuel pump is to see if you accidentally tripped the shock sensor for the fuel pump. It is located in the right front footwell of your car (assuming a US car). You will find a button there, depress it and see if that fixes things for you.