Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

2004 XTYPE 3.0 Replacing OEM Radio - Asking for advice

Search this Thread

Old 05-09-2014, 12:24 PM
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default 2004 XTYPE 3.0 Replacing OEM Radio - Asking for advice

Hey guys,

I am looking to replace my cd player in my XTYPE to either a double din fixed screen dvd player or a single din pop up screen dvd player and replace a blown speaker in one of the back doors and I am just looking for advice based on your experience and knowledge.

I'd like to do the job myself however I am fairly new to doing this kind of work (only a couple of times on much more universal (easy) cars. I've read everything I can find online (this forum, other forums, youtube, etc) regarding putting in an after market radio into an X-Type. I am getting such mixed messages I am debating whether I could do it myself or if a shop could even do it for a reasonable amount of money.

Is it a fairly easy install? The things that have me tripped up (and forgive me because I do not know a lot about this) are whether a double din will always fit with due to other stuff behind the radio, fiber optics and how the car is wired. I've heard that in order to do it you'd need to rewire basically the whole car and add amps, etc. Also, I saw another member (dennis black) here who posted nice pictures of all he did and when he installed his head unit he had to do some wiring to the dimmer / light dial to the left of the steering wheel and also needed, he also had a stereo adapter and an antenna adapter which I am not familiar with. To be honest, these things would be over my head in respect to installing