Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Advice on buying this x-type jaguar

Search this Thread

Old 08-30-2012, 09:01 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Advice on buying this x-type jaguar

hello everyone!

I am new to jaguars and was looking for some advice on buying one.

I came across this today and wanted to know what you guys think?

xtype jaguar

Is it a good deal and what should i look out for with these cars?

Any information will be greatly appreciated, thank you!

Old 08-31-2012, 01:25 AM
Veteran Member
Received 172 Likes on 147 Posts

That's a great deal if the thermostat is the only thing out like they claim. The thing is that my fan control module is completely dead and I never actually use my fans unless I'm in stop and go traffic. If you take this thing for a test drive and it starts overheating while going about 30-40mph, then you are looking at a head gasket or something much more major. If you're close to it, go take a look at it. The things that fail on these vehicles are the transmissions and the transfer case. If the transmission and xcase are running now, then all you have to do is top the tranny with fluid and drain and refill what's left in the xcase and you will have a great car for very cheap. If it was me, I would go look at that in a heartbeat or at least figure out when the car overheats (driving or stopped.)

Old 08-31-2012, 07:06 AM
Veteran Member
Received 126 Likes on 114 Posts

wow...steal of a deal...i'd be all over that if i was local there

Old 08-31-2012, 07:16 AM
Received 1,420 Likes on 1,063 Posts

Um.... 160K miles with an overheating problem and 1 picture to go by...?

Yes, could be the thermostat but why would someone not invest less than $100 to fix the thermostat issue and sell the car for more???

I would stay away - sounds like the overheating is a bigger issue or there are other hidden issues not "known" yet. Just my $0.02

Old 08-31-2012, 07:36 AM
GGG
Received 16,791 Likes on 12,165 Posts