X-Type ( X400 ) 2001 - 2009
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

New here. Just wanted to give a shout-out.

Search this Thread

Old 12-14-2013, 01:28 PM
Received 8 Likes on 8 Posts
Thumbs up New here. Just wanted to give a shout-out.

You guys are great.

I am new to Jags. This past March, I bought my wife a pretty "cherry" 2003 Jaguar X-Type 3.0

We needed the AWD due to where we live (northern New England).

Anyway, you guys are great.

I was starting to be convinced that the "Check Engine Light" was somehow tied to some great force in the universe.

Meaning, a tree falls in China, the check engine light comes on.
It's cold outside, the check engine light comes on.
The car is jealous because you are spending the night with your wife, the check engine light comes on.
Some fat guy farts in Russia....you get the picture.

Well, with your help, I was able to determine that the original O-Rings on the Throttle Controls were bad and I was able to also install the new ones without disassembling the entire damn engine!

Parts = $8
Labor = 20 minutes or so.....

Went out and bought a code reader, reset the computer and Viola! Seems to have done the trick.

Other things that I have learned about this car (or found out the hard way!).

The lug nuts are absolute crap. Every single one of them should be replaced immediately!
(Ask me how I know this.)

This Jaguar loves fuel injector cleaner. 93 octane fuel works better than 91. It has been my experience that fuel injector cleaner should be used regularly.

If you can help it.......buy the Ford branded hoses/parts.

Anyway, thanks guys! You have already saved me a ton of dough, and I expect more will be saved in the future.

Thanks again.

Mike

Old 12-14-2013, 02:51 PM
Veteran Member
Received 301 Likes on 279 Posts

Another satisfied customer! Welcome to the forums.

Old 12-14-2013, 05:10 PM
Received 46 Likes on 42 Posts