X-Type ( X400 ) 2001 - 2009
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Programming your own key for X-Type?

Search this Thread

Old 10-29-2016, 08:30 PM
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default Programming your own key for X-Type?

I am new to Jaguar as well as this forum, I just purchased my first x-type and both the key fabs do not activate the car with fresh batteries. Is it possible to program your own keys with a programmer available online? Is there a specific brand that is widely used by the home mechanic? I called to have the keys re programmed at a Jag shop and the cost is over $200, the cost of some programmers.

Foxwell NT510 Multi-System Scanner for Land Rover and Jaguar with Advanced Functions Such As Actuation, Adaptation And Programming https://www.amazon.ca/dp/B014CT4WU8/..._qYufybVBAV6NJ

Old 10-29-2016, 08:41 PM
Veteran member
Received 3,825 Likes on 3,144 Posts

James, if you are only programming the push button on the fob, then all that you should need is a good key that can start the car. From there, you follow the standard fob programming and you should be able to mate up a new fob portion of the key without any programming tools needed. If you were trying to program a new key, you could need the specialized software. But, since you mention that you have 2 good keys that start the car, again, no software needed.

Old 10-29-2016, 08:55 PM
Received 7,879 Likes on 4,763 Posts

I am confused about you problem. The keys are TWO PARTS. The key blade and the keyfob transmitter. They are both snapped together but are completely separate components. Do you need KEYS (transponders) or KEYFOB TRANSMITTERS configured to your car????????
more info please.

There is a vast amount of info on this forum. TSBs are your friend.

bob

The following users liked this post:
PanamaJag (11-01-2016)
Old 10-29-2016, 11:19 PM
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts