X-Type ( X400 ) 2001 - 2009
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Suggestions & recommendations? DIY Project Coming Up. Going under The Hood.

Search this Thread

Old 10-07-2011, 10:49 AM
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Suggestions & recommendations? DIY Project Coming Up. Going under The Hood.

I Am Going In!

So there are a few quips with my car that are preventing me from passing emissions in VA. So I have brought it over to a buddy's and we're going under the hood commando style (with a side of bromance).

I am hoping that more experienced owners can give me tips, ideas, suggestions, recommendations on anything that I should try to address while I'm at it that will help the car and is still very economical. Ok, might as well be honest, I'm near broke so I need to stay on the cheap side.

Here are some details...
2002 jaguar X-type 3.0
105,000+ miles

Check Engine Codes...
P0117
P1647
P1111
P1796
I installed the workshop manual but I'm not very good at using it yet.

Other notable problems...
Fan never stops once key is set to On but there is no overheating or loss of coolant.
My gas mileage is horrendous and as low as 14mpg.

I appreciate any and all help and feedback.

Old 10-09-2011, 10:10 PM

Bump

Dang guys, no feedback at all?

Old 10-10-2011, 07:03 AM
Veteran member
Received 3,825 Likes on 3,144 Posts

notherids, the P1111 code is the normal code you should be wanting to see (says everything is good). The P0117 code is saying that your engine coolant temp circuit is seeing too low of a resistance. The P1796 code is saying that your throttle kick down circuit is not functioning properly. Code P1649 is a flash memory issue with the FCCP circuit.