XF and XFR ( X250 ) 2007 - 2015

Restricted Performance and Check Engine

 
  #1  
Old 09-02-2015, 04:48 AM
D.K
D.K is offline
Junior Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: London
Posts: 25
Likes: 0
Received 4 Likes on 1 Post
Default Restricted Performance and Check Engine

Hello everyone, I'm new member of this forum.
I bought about 3 weeks ago Jaguar XFS 3.0d 2010 and I got all ready 3 times Restricted Performance red warning lights and this morning plus engine check lights come up. But all the time after restarting the engine the warning lights go away (switching of the engine, locking unlocking and leaving it for few minutes).
I book diagnostic in Les Pauls London how it was recommended one of the trusted garages at this forum.
Diagnostics is only at Saturday so I wondering what it can be and maybe I can do it by myself? I trying to do it ASAP because in the end of next week I going for holiday and long journey
P.S sorry for my English
 
  #2  
Old 09-02-2015, 10:59 AM
n8ertot's Avatar
Senior Member
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Salt Lake City
Posts: 417
Received 67 Likes on 49 Posts
Default

I'm not sure of your region, but here in the US if you go to any auto parts store, you can use an OBD2 scanner for free to see what codes the car is throwing. Without that, it's tough to really know what may be going on.
 
  #3  
Old 09-02-2015, 12:27 PM
Veteran Member
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Home
Posts: 3,900
Received 781 Likes on 664 Posts
Default

Yes you can read the codes yourself.

What kind of code reader do you have?

Can it read Jaguar's?
.
.
.
 
  #4  
Old 09-03-2015, 01:33 AM
D.K
D.K is offline
Junior Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: London
Posts: 25
Likes: 0
Received 4 Likes on 1 Post
Default

Originally Posted by n8ertot View Post
I'm not sure of your region, but here in the US if you go to any auto parts store, you can use an OBD2 scanner for free to see what codes the car is throwing. Without that, it's tough to really know what may be going on.
Good for you but I never didn't hear about that in UK. So probably I need just to wait till Saturday. This morning car was working fine- maybe some lack of power but it's probably because I get used to the car.


Originally Posted by tbird6 View Post
Yes you can read the codes yourself.

What kind of code reader do you have?

Can it read Jaguar's?
.
.
.
Unfortunately at this moment I don't have one, I thinking to get WiFi version, but didn't have time to read properly about them to make right choice.
 
  #5  
Old 09-03-2015, 03:00 AM
Veteran Member
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Yorkshire, England
Posts: 23,263
Received 3,429 Likes on 3,037 Posts
Default

Even the cheap elm327 should work. From 5.
 
  #6  
Old 09-03-2015, 07:06 AM
D.K
D.K is offline
Junior Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: London
Posts: 25
Likes: 0
Received 4 Likes on 1 Post
Default

Originally Posted by JagV8 View Post
Even the cheap elm327 should work. From 5.
ok, thx.
I just ordered one of those, should come on Monday, so will keep it for future troubleshooting
 
  #7  
Old 09-03-2015, 08:02 AM
D.K
D.K is offline
Junior Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: London
Posts: 25
Likes: 0
Received 4 Likes on 1 Post
Default

forgot to ask, maybe someone can recommend good software on these devices for iPhone? (of course preferring free versions )
 
  #8  
Old 09-03-2015, 10:05 AM
n8ertot's Avatar
Senior Member
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Salt Lake City
Posts: 417
Received 67 Likes on 49 Posts
Default

I use Torque on android, which has a lot of extra functions. I think they have an iphone version too.
 
  #9  
Old 09-03-2015, 03:37 PM
D.K
D.K is offline
Junior Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: London
Posts: 25
Likes: 0
Received 4 Likes on 1 Post
Default

ok, thx, will try.
Today at the beginning of journey home from work, car started juddering and was lack of power. Before the car went to Restricted Performance I stopped and at neutral gear few times kicked gas up to 2500-3000 rpm. Then I tried to move off but some juddering was still present so then I pressed gas again in D mode up to 2500-3000 rpm and everything went away, car started to perform how it should be. As well it was quite strong exhaust smell in the cabin (the windows was open)
 
  #10  
Old 09-03-2015, 04:46 PM
Ngarara's Avatar
Veteran Member
Join Date: May 2013
Location: London, UK
Posts: 3,382
Received 1,083 Likes on 776 Posts
Default

'Restricted Performance' is such a vague message that it's almost impossible to diagnose without the codes. Generally, it indicates a condition that isn't fatal, but the car's operating parameters have to be turned down to prevent damage.

The guys at Les Pauls should be able to pinpoint the problem, as they have a full Jag SDD diagnostic system.
 
  #11  
Old 09-04-2015, 01:33 AM
Veteran Member
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Yorkshire, England
Posts: 23,263
Received 3,429 Likes on 3,037 Posts
Default

Check it's not a regen gone wrong as that's a nightmare.
 
  #12  
Old 09-04-2015, 06:02 AM
D.K
D.K is offline
Junior Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: London
Posts: 25
Likes: 0
Received 4 Likes on 1 Post
Default

Originally Posted by JagV8 View Post
Check it's not a regen gone wrong as that's a nightmare.
Can you please write about it more: how to check that and is it possible to do by yourself? And what components its effects?
 
  #13  
Old 09-04-2015, 03:52 PM
Veteran Member
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Yorkshire, England
Posts: 23,263
Received 3,429 Likes on 3,037 Posts
Default

Way too complicated - read up for yourself in handbook, internet etc.
 
  #14  
Old 09-05-2015, 10:48 AM
D.K
D.K is offline
Junior Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: London
Posts: 25
Likes: 0
Received 4 Likes on 1 Post
Default

Today was visiting 'Les Pauls' garage and diagnostic come up with this mistakes: P006A-00 Manifold absolute pressure - mass or volume air flow correlation; P00BD-07: Mass or volume air flow A circuit range/performance - Air flow to high; P2263-22: Turbo/supercharge boost system performance; P0235-94: Turbo/supercharge boost sensor A circuit .
They deleted all errors and made few runs to check will it come up anything back, but it was all clear. So they let me go and told if it will come up again, they will read errors and will check with smoke machine is the any holes and if not then its will be needed to change BOV- its looks like its stucks
 
  #15  
Old 09-07-2015, 06:58 PM
bollocsk187's Avatar
Senior Member
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: NorCal
Posts: 316
Received 13 Likes on 11 Posts
Default

I had that over a year ago and the code was a misfire. One area which I think causes problems but I have no real evidence is the type of gas station you use. I recall using "76" gas - because it was cheaper , but i do not do that anymore.
 
  #16  
Old 09-08-2015, 02:02 AM
D.K
D.K is offline
Junior Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: London
Posts: 25
Likes: 0
Received 4 Likes on 1 Post
Default

I'm going to nearest to me, so its or bp or Tesco, but I use fuel additive Miller Diesel Power EcoMax
But after deleting all errors its 3 day past and its looks like all fine, we will see...
 
  #17  
Old 09-09-2015, 03:22 PM
Ngarara's Avatar
Veteran Member
Join Date: May 2013
Location: London, UK
Posts: 3,382
Received 1,083 Likes on 776 Posts
Default

I'm not sure if it necessarily applies to your fault lights, but:

Some error codes are 'persistent', i.e. they keep being displayed until a certain number of starts have occurred without the actual problem reoccurring. It's particularly the case when the problem might increase emissions, and they will cause you to get an MOT failure if they're being displayed when the car is tested. But the actual problem may only have been detected once, and that might even be a false positive.

Welcome to the wonderful world of modern emissions regulations...
 
  #18  
Old 09-09-2015, 03:28 PM
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Perth Ontario Canada
Posts: 11,058
Received 2,202 Likes on 1,804 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by D.K View Post
I'm going to nearest to me, so its or bp or Tesco, but I use fuel additive Miller Diesel Power EcoMax
..
No need for this or any additive in the fuel.
 
The following users liked this post:
Don B (02-02-2019)
  #19  
Old 11-01-2015, 03:16 PM
D.K
D.K is offline
Junior Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: London
Posts: 25
Likes: 0
Received 4 Likes on 1 Post
Default

So I drive next ~6k miles and there no more Restricted Performance mode.
Last week I decided to do some service (I think 15k miles it's too much to run, so i perform mini service by me self).
When I was changing air filter I noticed a screw between 2 clips which wasn't there when I bought the car (thx to guys from Les Pauls). When I had that problem (Restricted Performance mode) some were on internet I found some information that if the box with air filter is not closed properly it can cause similar problems (it's something to do that air goes in... I dont remember right explanation).
So if some one will have some similar problems check that, its looks like it was my case
 
  #20  
Old 01-11-2016, 07:33 AM
D.K
D.K is offline
Junior Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: London
Posts: 25
Likes: 0
Received 4 Likes on 1 Post
Default

Hello Everyone,
Sadly but it wasn't the end of the story. About after 4 months and ~10 t. miles it went to Restricted Performance again.
This time during heavy acceleration i heard someone "clapping" noise and engine start to work very strange. I pulled on the side of the round, to check. After visual inspection i didn't found anything I start the engine and move on. It was lack of power, engine was "shaking" and its went to RP mode.
Connecting elm327 i found 3 errors:
P2263- Turbocharger/Supercharger Boost System Performance
P006A- MAP Mass or Volume Air Flow Correlation (Bank 1)
P00BF- Mass or Volume Air Flow B Circuit Range/ Performance- Air Flow Too High
Resetting errors didn't help, the engine was working "terrible" and in fie sec was going back to RP mode.
Went back to garage. After checking they come up that boost valve was stack and was over boosting all the time the system what cause to crack the inter-cooler.
Price for repair:
Smoke test- 64
Manifold sensor cleaning -20
Boost valve - 390 to fit - 160
Intercooler - 212 to fit 240
+ few other things like testing, ATF.... all together 1380
What do you think is this a case, is it correct diagnosis and its not overpriced?
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Quick Reply: Restricted Performance and Check Engine


Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

© 2019 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
 
  • Ask a Question
    Get answers from community experts
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: