X-Type ( X400 ) 2001 - 2009
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Wheel bearing and right tools

Search this Thread

Old 08-28-2013, 06:40 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Wheel bearing and right tools

So, I have been looking all over this site after checking the Manual on how to do this and have not been able to accurately find the answer to my question.

I firmly believe that I need to replace the left front wheel bearing on my X. According to the manual, special tools are required to remove the "half shaft", don't get me started on the terms.

Are these special tools special because they can only be used on Jag's? Or, are they special because they pull the "half-shaft" out and I can rent them from the local parts store?

Everything that I have read just says remove tire, remove knuckle with special tools.

I am reasonably mechanically inclined so I think I can tackle this job but I have never worked on this part of any car before.

Plans are to take the knuckle to the machine shop (I know, make sure they have the right tools) and let them do that part.

And to answer the question before it is asked, after I replaced the serpentine belt tensioner, I could finally hear the other noise it was making. A low rumble sound that varied with the speed of the car. As the car rolls to a stop, it has a slight sensation of driving on a cobblestone street, kind of rough. Have not noticed any difference when turning the wheel left/right but since my wife only lets me drive it when something doesn't sound right, I don't know how long this has been going on.

We a taking a fall road trip and I would hate to have it give out totally while traveling.

Old 08-28-2013, 08:37 PM
Veteran member
Received 3,825 Likes on 3,144 Posts