X-Type ( X400 ) 2001 - 2009
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

wipers have no delay

Search this Thread

Old 02-17-2010, 08:54 AM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default wipers have no delay

I have a 2003 x type jag with I think rain senser on it. The wipers work as they should until you try to turn on the delay and then they do nothing. I also have a problem starting the car when it is cold most of the time it happens only when it has sat over night. When you start it the car runs like it is hitting on 3 cylinders missing bad but after a few minutes it clears up and runs as smooth as any car I have ever drove. Gas milage seems kinda bad not sure what it is yet but I am putting gas in alot. After the car has been running if you hammer down on it there is no delay miss it takes off and runs very smooth. My thought are it has to have something to do with the air/fuel mixture or choke system but I am new with jags so any help would be great. Also the engine malfunction light is on. I took it to autozone to tell me what the codes were and all he told me was that all cylinders were misfiring. I replaced the front plugs to see if it made any change but it made none. Autozone told me to replace the coil packs but I cant see all 6 coil packs being bad considering it runs so good after it is warm. It is reallt strange but after it is warm I cant image it running any strongerr being a small v-6 it has a lot more power than I thought it would. I think that is everything but if you need more info please let me know this is driving me crazy. I hate driving a car that has a problem and it worries me that it might mess something else up. Thanks again in advance.

Old 02-17-2010, 02:33 PM
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

The wipers, might be just the relay. What are the codes for the engine light? It sounds like it might be the infamous IMT seals (o-rings).

Old 02-17-2010, 03:53 PM

Where is the o ring and the IMF located? Thanks for the reply.

Old 02-17-2010, 07:26 PM
Veteran Member