X-Type ( X400 ) 2001 - 2009
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

X-Type 2.5L Not Cranking

Old 11-17-2010, 09:43 AM
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default X-Type 2.5L Not Cranking

Thermo or anyone's help is appreciated sincerely:

I'm not a mechanic so I'm just competent to know a few things about whats going on. I can try some of the usual suspects if not all. I do have a mechanic that can help but I'd like to know more of why this keeps popping up.

When I turn key, engine doesn't turn over I get a tick sound. The service engine light is on, abs light on, brake light on, battery light on.
The battery light and service engine light have remained on since I've had car.

Here's the checklist add anything else I need to check before getting mechanic:

Dead Battery
My headlamps worked, radio worked, a/c worked.Mechanic replaced this already this year for $140.00. I do have residue on positive terminal I lightly cleaned this a couple of weeks ago. Will go buy some cleaner and anti-corrosion spray today and get to work.
Bad Igntion Switch
Had it replaced a few months back when the car went dead after I did a gas fill up.The switch was $120.00 mechanic installed at same time with new battery.Bad Starter Connection
Not sure will check and tap with hammer later. I will need help on locating it. Will check the manual.Check Your Fuses
Will check

Old 11-17-2010, 03:17 PM
Veteran member
Received 3,823 Likes on 3,142 Posts

Kris, first, place a multimeter across the battery and then attempt to start the car. Does the voltage remain above 11.0 VDC? If no, then you have either a bad battery or a battery that is not fully charged (recharge the battery and then reattempt, if same problem, bad battery).