XF (X260) 2015 onwards

Stop Start Question

Search this Thread

Old 02-07-2017, 07:16 AM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Stop Start Question

Hi All

This is my first post so apologies if this has been asked before (searched a few recent posts but this query is different). I just bought a 2013 S Portfolio and I'm loving it :-) I am new to stop start and I'm gradually getting used to it, despite the initial annoyance

My question is twofold:

1. When I brake and come to a stop the engine stops. That's all fine but while keeping my foot on the brake I engage the handbrake. Once I remove my foot from the brake the engine starts again despite the fact that the handbrake is on. Is this normal? Seems a bit counter-intuitive to me, why not keep the engine off while the handbrake is on?

2. When the engine has stopped and my foot is on the brake - it will start the engine again after about 30 seconds even if I still have the brake pressed. Is this other systems requiring power or is my Jag acting strangely?

Thanks a lot!
Bob

Old 02-08-2017, 03:36 PM
Received 7 Likes on 6 Posts

Originally Posted by bobmccarthy
Hi All

This is my first post so apologies if this has been asked before (searched a few recent posts but this query is different). I just bought a 2013 S Portfolio and I'm loving it :-) I am new to stop start and I'm gradually getting used to it, despite the initial annoyance

My question is twofold:

1. When I brake and come to a stop the engine stops. That's all fine but while keeping my foot on the brake I engage the handbrake. Once I remove my foot from the brake the engine starts again despite the fact that the handbrake is on. Is this normal? Seems a bit counter-intuitive to me, why not keep the engine off while the handbrake is on?

2. When the engine has stopped and my foot is on the brake - it will start the engine again after about 30 seconds even if I still have the brake pressed. Is this other systems requiring power or is my Jag acting strangely?