XJ ( X351 ) 2009 - 2019

considering an XJL need advice and opinions

Search this Thread

Old 08-31-2012, 01:52 PM
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default considering an XJL need advice and opinions

I am new to these forums and i am new to the jaguar brand. I am 25 years old and i currently drive a 2005 cadillac sts custom show car. the cadillac was my first vehicle i ever owned but i have driven many different vehicles in my driving life. I always thought jaguars were designed for the more "mature" market but when the XF came out all my past impressions went out the window. i made up my mind that i would be my next vehicle purchase when i gave my STS to my mom or something.

the dealer was giving me an incentive to purchase a 2012 model over a 2013 model which was about $20,000 off the ticket price. mind you the xjl is alot more expensive in toronto, canada where i live. it starts at $95.500 compared to the $80,700 in the states. so its not much of a deal.

i am not planning on purchasing this vehicle until 2013 maybe may or june. but before i take the plunge i have a few questions. what i am looking to get is a 2011-2013 XJL white exterior ivory interior, with executive package and rear seat entertainment.

depending on pricing i will decide on new or off-lease.

my main concerns are;

How is the car in winter? light snow/ ice/ slush with and without winter tires.
my current Cadillac without winter tires is probably the worst rear while drive vehicle in the snow.

would waiting for a 2013 awd be more realistic with the lose of the v8. i wouldn't mind going to v6 if it was diesel.

i have been told by many older jag drivers that the cars were not very reliable and always in the shop. i want to know what you early adopters of the new jags think so far.

i read many reviews that said the cars touch screen and navigation is slow and therefor useless. since you guys live with this car what is your overall opinion on it. it is bearable.