XJ ( X351 ) 2009 - 2019

How to disable start-stop

Search this Thread

Old 05-21-2017, 03:32 PM
Received 25 Likes on 10 Posts
Default How to disable start-stop

Hello XJ (X351) owners. I'm new to the XJ picking up a 2016 XJR this week, love the car, but hate terribly the intellegent start-stop feature. Any way to disable (permanently) this feature? Thank you.

Last edited by chasr; 05-21-2017 at 03:45 PM. Reason: Clarify
Old 05-21-2017, 05:29 PM
Received 13 Likes on 11 Posts

I would love a solution to this question as well. In the F-pace section, a way has been found to disable that feature, and it works. But there's the possibility Jaguar will take a dim view of altering the electronics. Could it affect warranty coverage? That has yet to be determined

John

Old 05-22-2017, 01:28 PM

Thank you John. I will keep researching this and share any findings. There must be way to avoid having to remember to press the the eco button every time you start the vehicle. Why Jaguar engineers don't have the default as "off" rather than "on" is beyond me.

Old 05-22-2017, 04:34 PM
Veteran member
Received 3,824 Likes on 3,143 Posts

chasr, reason why there is no "on/off" button is that they used this feature to improve the gas mileage of the car. To disable it makes the EPA rating of the car null and void. Permanently disabling this feature will put your warrantee in question. Depending on what sort of relationship you have with your dealership, this may or may not be an issue.

If you are looking to disable it, I would make sure to get out of any jaguar warrantee and then do what you are wanting to do. I would hate to see something go wrong that should be covered by a warrantee and not be covered due to something silly.

Old 05-22-2017, 08:31 PM
Veteran Member
Received 6,139 Likes on 3,383 Posts