XJ ( X351 ) 2009 - 2019

My 2011 XJ virtual dash board flashes madly intermittently

Search this Thread

Old 10-17-2017, 04:26 AM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Anyone else come across this problem, the car has only done 22,000 miles

Thanks

Last edited by Cambo; 10-17-2017 at 05:30 AM.
Old 10-17-2017, 02:55 PM
Received 170 Likes on 160 Posts

It could be a lot of things. I have no experience with your car since I'm waiting on mine to be shipped in from California. I have worked on electronics all my life though, so the list of causes could be long, from software to bad solder joints. The most likely is the low miles causing a bad connection. Corrosion can build up on the connectors from sitting too long without power applied. Voltage does some strange things such as protecting a light bulb filament when you have a crash to protecting a connector from corrosion. You could always tell if a light bulb was on in a crash because the filament inside the bulb would still be intact if it was on. The filament would be broken if it happened with it off.

This is my first post, I just joined a few minutes ago. I was going to wait until I get my Jag, but I thought I might be able to help. Try hitting the dash when it does it and see if the vibration stops it. If it does the problem is probably in the connector for the display. If it doesn't, it may be at the computer end or wherever the image is generated. Driving the car enough may fix it on it's own though. I had the same problem with the dash lights in my Corvette. If I let it sit for awhile some of the bulbs wouldn't light. If I drove it almost everyday they worked perfectly and consistently. Hope this helps.

Old 10-17-2017, 04:54 PM
Veteran Member
Received 2,241 Likes on 1,769 Posts

Well before you do any of that how old is the battery?

Many strange electrical things happen when your battery is not 100%.
Even consider using a battery tender because with a low mile car that says it does not get driven much.