XJ XJ6 / XJ8 / XJR ( X350 & X358 ) 2003 - 2009

Anyone lowered X350 XJR?

Search this Thread

Old 02-06-2012, 09:06 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Anyone lowered X350 XJR?

Love the car but if I could lower it for 1"-1.25", I think I would have loved it even more. Too high for my preference.

Has anyone lowered X350? I know that Arden makes piggyback suspension modules but the cost is around 1K plus, I believe.

Any feedback would be appreciated, thanks.

Old 02-07-2012, 11:03 AM
Received 125 Likes on 65 Posts

I have heard that you can do it by recalibrating the height sensors, but telling them that the car is at the correct height when it's actually lower than that, i.e., the car should be set to 386mm but you set it to 348 instead. The car then saves that height as normal, which is an inch and a half lower. I'm new to the XJR and I read this on another forum - I can't vouch for the accuracy.

Old 02-07-2012, 11:42 AM
Veteran Member
Received 1,063 Likes on 759 Posts

You probably can get short (adjustable) links for the 4 height sensors, that way you don't need to reprogram at all, and its cheap.

Old 02-07-2012, 04:28 PM
Received 17 Likes on 14 Posts

Drive it at 100mph - it lowers itself! Not by that much tho' only about 3/4 inch.

Old 02-07-2012, 04:38 PM
Veteran Member
Received 505 Likes on 257 Posts

Originally Posted by avos
You probably can get short (adjustable) links for the 4 height sensors, that way you don't need to reprogram at all, and its cheap.
This is how they do it with the Mercedes air ride cars. Matter of fact they shim the factory sensors with washers.

The MB has one rear sensor and two front ones. I wonder if this will wreak havoc on the jag computer though.

Food for thought.

Take care,

George

Old 02-07-2012, 09:06 PM

Thanks, guys, for all responses!

Originally Posted by avos
Can you explain a little bit more? What do you mean by getting short links to the sensors?