XJ XJ6 / XJ8 / XJR ( X350 & X358 ) 2003 - 2009

New and exciting for the pros

Search this Thread

Old 02-03-2014, 04:40 PM
Received 30 Likes on 20 Posts
Default New and exciting for the pros

As some of you know I am a professional British car technician, specializing in Jaguar vehicles. This problem has me scratching my head a bit.

I have 3 Jaguars, all showing the same symptoms, a hot restart misfire. It only happens for about 15-30 seconds, and only under the following condition.

Car driven about 20 minutes, park for 15, restart, and there you go. An irritating and rather strong misfire, randomly across all 8 cylinders.

All three vehicles show the same codes, and number of 300-308, and excess emission codes like p1316 etc.

No other codes found present in any of the three cars, all three have had recent major services (our version of a tune up) and all 3 have new ignition coils. 2 of them have a new throttle body for an unrelated symptom.

vehicles affected-

(1) 03 Jaguar XJ8 4.2L NA
(1) 04 Jaguar XJ8 4.2L NA
(1) 03 Jaguar XKR 4.2L SC

Before you say it, I checked for vacuum leaks on all three, no leaks were found after smoke testing the vehicles. All show fuel trim values of less than 10% either rich or lean. Just for kicks we ran fuel injector cleaners on all three, all three have new crank sensors, 1 car we reprogrammed the ECM and 1 is getting fuel pump installed (The XKR, this car may be having a problem with the fact that the fuel pump is putting out 80lbs which is well above spec. It also causes the vehicle not to start when this symptom occurs, so in the interest of making this easier, we can talk about the XK when it is back together.)

Can't say I don't ask about the fun ones! Any ideas would be greatly appreciated.

Old 02-03-2014, 06:32 PM
Veteran Member
Received 737 Likes on 465 Posts

First Thought is that the cats are marginal and or the upstream/downstream 02 sensors

But on second thought the key may be siting for 15min after warmup