XJ XJ6 / XJR6 ( X300 ) 1995-1997

1997 XJ6L Advice Request

Search this Thread

Old 08-05-2017, 09:41 AM
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default 1997 XJ6L Advice Request

Hi, new to Jaguar Forums and fairly new to my 1997 XJ6L. I've been driving it for 8 months and have been very happy. It came to me in very good, well maintained condition, although I had been sitting for 8 years.
I do not have any manuals and admit I am working on a low budget.
My first issue began a couple weeks ago. The car overheated somewhat. I found water in the power steering reservoir. This has caused the power steering to NOT work. I never saw a water cooled power steering and am at a loss. Don't know what to inspect or how to repair.
As of yesterday, the car refuses to start. It is in my driveway. It turns over well and ran great the day before.
I checked the obvious, found the front two spark plugs to be slightly oil fouled. I cleaned them but that did not help.
I then checked the fuel line. No fuel being pumped to the injector manifold. I suspect a bad fuel pump. I think that requires removing the gas tank.
Before I do that, I think I should check all fuses and relays involved in the fuel pump. It is here that I ask for advive. I have no map for my fuses or relays and don't know where or which ones to inspect or change.
Can anyone offer help? Am on following a logical trouble shoot?
I am wide open to suggestions.
I'd really like to continue driving this vehicle and prefer not to do unnecessary work!
Thanks in advance for any suggestions or advice.

Old 08-05-2017, 10:08 AM
Received 7,878 Likes on 4,762 Posts

Wrong forum, this is the XJ8 forum. You need to post in the XJ6 (X300) forum.

https://www.jaguarforums.com/forum/xj-xj6-xjr6-x300-26/

bob

Old 08-05-2017, 11:57 AM
Received 12,734 Likes on 6,378 Posts

Hi panhead64flh,

Welcome to the Jaguar Forums! It's great to have you with us.