XJ XJ6 / XJR6 ( X300 ) 1995-1997

3-stage stereo upgrade

Search this Thread

Old 06-27-2013, 04:24 AM
Received 350 Likes on 224 Posts
Default 3-stage stereo upgrade

In this post, I am combining my experiences upgrading my in-car sounds..
I am not an expert, but to me it is a bit like wine & art - bugger the experts, I just like what I like.

I bought my Daimler 3.2 AJ16 5 months ago.
The cassette sounded tinny, I had no tapes left, and the CD changer wouldn't connect 90 % of the time (sound familiar?)

So..

Stage1:
I needed good hands-free phone for work: I chose Parrot Asteroid Classic for low-key look to suit the car, and good hands-free phone & music selection. The Parrot Installer upgraded to JVC 6.5" speakers. He failed to 'upsell' me - I was in his shop wanting to buy Alpine etc, but he recommended JVC to save me money.
All good for a day, then one speaker started to 'buzz' on the door card - back Ol'Blue went, and it took a day to suss the problem and swap in some 5 1/4" JVCs. Problem solved, in fact a bit more bass than the 6.5s - go figure

NZ has coarse-chip seal on the roads, so lots of tyre noise, and I wanted some Bass, so..

Stage 2:
same installer, again, didn't upsell me - fitted a Sony 600w amp, and smallish Sony sealed sub - this suited me as I wanted some trunk space to remain. The sub is mounted on wing nuts using the old CD changer bracket, so I can remove it if I need the spare wheel of a dark & stormy night.
Result - reasonable bass, but a mid-bass 'hole' when driving, which I attributed to the coarse-chip road noise.
So I wanted some rear parcel shelf speakers running of the trunk-mounted amp, to fill in the bass hole.