XJ XJ6 / XJR6 ( X300 ) 1995-1997

i feel like im being lazy here

Search this Thread

Old 06-05-2016, 07:34 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default i feel like im being lazy here

I apologize for being too tired to look through everything. Im going to be doing a valve cover gasket replacement. I've never done one by the way... anything else that everyone checks while they're in there? I know very little about these automobiles. I am new to Jaguars. Do i have adjustable valves? (97 xj6 by the way)
Also, i need a new trim piece for the plastic around the shifter. Are there US companies that sell oem parts for Jags? Thank you in advance

Might as well plug the company i work for ewheelworks.com Check us out for all your custom wheel needs

Old 06-06-2016, 02:54 AM
Received 10,312 Likes on 6,822 Posts

Camcover gasket is not rocket science.

Make sure you get the 6 seals for the spark plug tubes AND the seals for the long bolts that hold the cover down. They generally do not come with the gasket.

I dress the new gasket/seals with a smear of Hi-Temp RTV, and give the 2 "D" seals at the rear a GOOD coating of the same RTV, then wipe off the excess after fitting.

DO NOT overtighten the bolts that hold that cover down. They are a shanked bolt, and all you will acheive is snapping the threads off in the head.

The valves have a shim for adjustment and are generally not something that is adjusted regularly. It is a HUGE time consuming task, and I would "think" about checking them at about 500K miles.

The following 3 users liked this post by Grant Francis:
al_roethlisberger (06-06-2016), braddexter21 (06-07-2016), Willtyndal (06-08-2017)
Old 06-06-2016, 08:41 PM
Veteran Member
Received 672 Likes on 495 Posts
Cool

Originally Posted by braddexter21

i feel like im being lazy here

Luke, trust your feelings -

Ok, now that I've picked on you for not doing much homework: