XJ XJ6 / XJR6 ( X300 ) 1995-1997

New Car, New error codes: P0420, P0430, P1177-- thoughts?

Search this Thread

Old 10-23-2017, 01:24 PM
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default New Car, New error codes: P0420, P0430, P1177-- thoughts?

Hi everyone,

I just picked up my 1995 XJ6 from my folks. It was my grandparent's car, then my parent's and now mine. Whoohoo!

So I drove her about 500 miles to take her home. I doubt this car has seen any highway driving in at least 10 years. It was a really pleasurable ride (with the exception of the crackly speakers which are on my fix list now).

However about 300 miles into the drive I got a check engine light, though it was still driving fine. Today I had Autozone read the OBD for me and got the following:

P0420 Catalyst system efficiency below threshold (Bank 1)
P0430 Catalyst system efficiency below threshold (Bank 2)
P1177 Long term fuel trim Too rich- Banks 1 and 2 (FMFR)

I'm a total newbie to this car and I'm in the process of reading up on these systems, but if anyone has any immediate thoughts on likely culprits with these codes coming up together, I would love to hear your input.

Thanks in advance!

Old 10-23-2017, 01:54 PM
Veteran Member
Received 1,383 Likes on 1,087 Posts

On the back of the engine block valve cover to the left there are 3 connectors pointing up . One is a grounding wire connector and the other 2 are the aft O2 sensors which give you the 420 and 430 . Look for green corrosion on those 2 connectors and clean up with some baking soda and water then spray with some oil . Keep track of connector hookup position as they will get mixed up .The 95 is a little different in some aspects so here is the 95 Electrical Guide , look at the upper right on page 51 .