XJ XJ6 / XJR6 ( X300 ) 1995-1997

Stereo installation question

 
  #1  
Old 12-30-2018, 12:54 PM
96x300's Avatar
Senior Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2018
Location: Missouri, United States
Posts: 122
Received 38 Likes on 28 Posts
Default Stereo installation question

I just ordered the only stereo install kit I could find currently available, from the UK. It includes the wiring and fascia piece so I don't have to hack up the wiring.

My questions being this.. I'm not previously experienced with Jaguars and my stereo and disc changer were missing when I bought the car. When I was searching on ebay I found a listing for the wiring adapter only ( may have been for xjs only), and there was a photo and directions showing a small section of wiring between the car's harness and the radio itself. What is this called, what is it's purpose, and do I need it when installing an aftermarket head unit? I just want to know if theres a missing piece I need to locate before filling the hole in my dash.



 
  #2  
Old 12-30-2018, 01:16 PM
Lady Penelope's Avatar
Veteran Member
Join Date: Apr 2017
Location: Kansas City USA
Posts: 3,774
Received 1,213 Likes on 965 Posts
Default

I'll have to get back with you , get to rake leaves now

This is the original wiring for the standard and premium set up with the external final amplifier and CD player you mentioned

If you had the standard setup you will have the 8 speaker wires coming from the head unit

They use the same head and connector but the difference is the speakers are driven with the final amplifiers contained in the head and the 8 wires in the connector or a round tan cable that goes back to the rear final amplifier and no 8 wires from the head

Both installations have a black round connector plugged into the left most side other then the round antennae on the right side



 

Last edited by Lady Penelope; 12-30-2018 at 01:33 PM.
  #3  
Old 12-30-2018, 01:28 PM
96x300's Avatar
Senior Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2018
Location: Missouri, United States
Posts: 122
Received 38 Likes on 28 Posts
Default

Thanks for the pics. Here's the photos from the plug adapter that said it was only for XJS that had me confused. To clarify this is Not what I ordered, I ordered the kit and stereo in the original post.

 
  #4  
Old 12-30-2018, 02:27 PM
Lady Penelope's Avatar
Veteran Member
Join Date: Apr 2017
Location: Kansas City USA
Posts: 3,774
Received 1,213 Likes on 965 Posts
Default

hard to see in the top pic if it has the 4 pins on the top row on the left side and 5 pins on the right side

This is looking at the original stereo head as it is installed but looking at it from the captain sitting in his seat perspective

The adapter harness looks close as you need this to plug into the original car side connector

The concern is if you have the 8 speaker wires in the original car side connector

Otherwise the speaker wires originate from the trunk from the premium set up external power amplifier mounted in the trunk
 

Last edited by Lady Penelope; 12-30-2018 at 02:40 PM.
  #5  
Old 12-30-2018, 05:26 PM
96x300's Avatar
Senior Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2018
Location: Missouri, United States
Posts: 122
Received 38 Likes on 28 Posts
Default

I do not believe that I have the premium sound as I do not have the rear subwoofer and there is a bracket where the cd changer was as well as the wiring, but there is no evidence of an amplifier having been to the left of it as I've seen in pictures. I just wanted to make sure i'm not missing a piece of factory wiring, that's needed. Is that "modular harness" shown in the ebay sellers pics for the 96 XJS plug specific to the XJS, or something only needed for the factory stereo? The section with the black box in-line with the yellow wire is what I'm concerned with.

​​​​
 
The following users liked this post:
Lady Penelope (12-30-2018)
  #6  
Old 12-30-2018, 06:06 PM
Lady Penelope's Avatar
Veteran Member
Join Date: Apr 2017
Location: Kansas City USA
Posts: 3,774
Received 1,213 Likes on 965 Posts
Default

The black box in the pic could be a noise suppressor if the 3 wires go into the Batt labeled positions

The X300 does not need this as there is a suppressor mounted below and to the left of the alternator

Or telephone equipment if going into the 3 Tele positions

Editing while I put the leafs to the curb
 

Last edited by Lady Penelope; 12-30-2018 at 06:10 PM.
  #7  
Old 12-30-2018, 06:45 PM
96x300's Avatar
Senior Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2018
Location: Missouri, United States
Posts: 122
Received 38 Likes on 28 Posts
Default

Okay thanks! That's along the lines of what I was thinking as well. I will post on how everything goes when everything comes in and gets installed.
 
  #8  
Old 12-30-2018, 07:15 PM
Lady Penelope's Avatar
Veteran Member
Join Date: Apr 2017
Location: Kansas City USA
Posts: 3,774
Received 1,213 Likes on 965 Posts
Default

Have you looked into the speaker condition as the originals will most likely have the inner cone to outside diameter foam rotted away and sound bad

The originals can be repaired easily yourself very cheaply

Where did you find that brand new connector and pigtail with the wires never spliced

looks awful pretty as I left a used one behind at a salvage yard

 

Last edited by Lady Penelope; 12-30-2018 at 07:27 PM.
  #9  
Old 12-30-2018, 07:25 PM
96x300's Avatar
Senior Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2018
Location: Missouri, United States
Posts: 122
Received 38 Likes on 28 Posts
Default

I haven't checked the condition of the speakers yet, I was just going to install the head unit and see if they work. I have to research proper removal/installation of the door panels and although theres a DIY download, I seldom have good internet access via computer and do most everything on my phone without the aid of 4G.

I'm partial to a good set of Clarion speakers myself, for the cost they tend to exceed my expectations.
 
  #10  
Old 12-30-2018, 07:56 PM
Lady Penelope's Avatar
Veteran Member
Join Date: Apr 2017
Location: Kansas City USA
Posts: 3,774
Received 1,213 Likes on 965 Posts
Default

The originals are a 3 mounting holes as most are 4 as I understand

I'll type out door panel removal on this venue if needed otherwise the speakers sound rattley
 
  #11  
Old 12-30-2018, 08:26 PM
96x300's Avatar
Senior Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2018
Location: Missouri, United States
Posts: 122
Received 38 Likes on 28 Posts
Default

Oh okay, well I should be able to work out the mounting if I decide on aftermarket speakers vs repair. If it's not too much trouble I could use the panel instructions as I have issues with my driver's door as well ( panel loose at bottom, inner handle not working). Always so much to do and so little time!

Thanks for all your help!
 

Last edited by 96x300; 12-30-2018 at 08:28 PM.
  #12  
Old 01-05-2019, 09:59 PM
Junior Member
Join Date: Jan 2019
Posts: 3
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by 96x300 View Post
I just ordered the only stereo install kit I could find currently available, from the UK. It includes the wiring and fascia piece so I don't have to hack up the wiring.

My questions being this.. I'm not previously experienced with Jaguars and my stereo and disc changer were missing when I bought the car. When I was searching on ebay I found a listing for the wiring adapter only ( may have been for xjs only), and there was a photo and directions showing a small section of wiring between the car's harness and the radio itself. What is this called, what is it's purpose, and do I need it when installing an aftermarket head unit? I just want to know if theres a missing piece I need to locate before filling the hole in my dash.


So do you need the wiring harness for any aftermarket radio or just this specific one?
 
  #13  
Old 01-06-2019, 07:47 AM
Lady Penelope's Avatar
Veteran Member
Join Date: Apr 2017
Location: Kansas City USA
Posts: 3,774
Received 1,213 Likes on 965 Posts
Default

I am personally staying with the factory head so I have not purchased a needed adapter to make a modern head work

You would have to determain the modern heads connector type first

So it's a cart before the horse thing , but he has ordered the items and will find out soon

In the case where you can't find a adapter that that fits both ends you can direct splice on the wires with the new heads oigtail

The wiring schematic for the 96 X300 is below on page 222 , 225 , and 228

Notice there are 2 options , one where the 8 speaker wires come from the head up front or the premium where it uses the exact sane head but uses a separate power amplifier in the trunk where the 8 + speaker wires come from

A way you can tell is if it has the CD player mounted in the trunk , The head will have the markings regardless if you have the CD player

http://www.jagrepair.com/images/Auto.../jagxj1996.pdf
 

Last edited by Lady Penelope; 01-06-2019 at 08:12 AM.
  #14  
Old 01-06-2019, 08:15 AM
Lady Penelope's Avatar
Veteran Member
Join Date: Apr 2017
Location: Kansas City USA
Posts: 3,774
Received 1,213 Likes on 965 Posts
Default

[QUOTE=Lady Penelope;2009969]I am personally staying with the factory head so I have not purchased a needed adapter to make a modern head work

You would have to determain the modern heads connector type first

So it's a cart before the horse thing , but he has ordered the items and will find out soon

In the case where you can't find a adapter that that fits both ends you can direct splice on the wires with the new heads oigtail

The wiring schematic for the 96 X300 is below on page 222 , 225 , and 228

Notice there are 2 options , one where the 8 speaker wires come from the head up front or the premium where it uses the exact sane head but uses a separate power amplifier in the trunk where the 8 + speaker wires come from

A way you can tell is if it has the CD player mounted in the trunk , The head will have the markings regardless if you have the CD player

http://www.jagrepair.com/images/Auto.../jagxj1996.pdf
 
  #15  
Old 01-06-2019, 10:10 AM
96x300's Avatar
Senior Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2018
Location: Missouri, United States
Posts: 122
Received 38 Likes on 28 Posts
Default

As far as I know the wiring adapter I ordered is for any head unit, and the kit is not necessary since the dash opening is 1 din and the wiring can be spliced. The fascia just helps fill the irregular opening for the stock head unit for a more "factory" look, and the wiring harness should keep me from having to cut off the factory plug, allowing for a cleaner installation.

​​​​​The fact that you can install a radio without the kit is probably why it's hard to find, plus the relatively small market for a model made 20+ years ago for a 3 year period.

I ordered that particular head unit because it allowed me to purchase it and the kit for under $100 which I was sent as a gift and using for my budget. It also has USB/aux which was a requirement since I keep the majority of my music on a flash drive.

It should be here within the week so I will lwt everyone know. The head unit came in Friday and looks nice.
 
  #16  
Old 01-06-2019, 10:53 AM
aholbro1's Avatar
Veteran Member
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Decatur, TX
Posts: 4,413
Received 1,385 Likes on 952 Posts
Default

That wiring jumper allows you to plug the car's harness into most any DIN-standard head unit without cutting wires. If you happen to have the premium sound system fitted originally, you'll still find the jumper harness useful, but you'll have some additional work ahead of you, as well. SInce your head unit and CD changer were missing, I'd reckon any amp mounted alongside the CD changer in the boot would've also been scavenged. Check your rear parcel shelf - if it has a bubble just left of center for a sub-woofer, you've got premium sound. If not, not likely. I doubt anyone would go to the trouble to change out the parcel shelf. Here's an excellent thread by Jacob Hankins on the premium sound conversion to modern head unit, in case you need it: https://www.jaguarforums.com/forum/x...uccess-195845/
 
The following users liked this post:
Lady Penelope (01-06-2019)
  #17  
Old 01-06-2019, 11:20 AM
Lady Penelope's Avatar
Veteran Member
Join Date: Apr 2017
Location: Kansas City USA
Posts: 3,774
Received 1,213 Likes on 965 Posts
Default

The shallow depth 6 x 9 5th woofer speaker on the parcel shelf I'm working on now

Can't find a X300 5th speaker so trying options ( hint CDMA )

Later I will ad a crossover to drive it but at the fit stage before thenJaguar XJ X350 Rear Alpine Speaker 2r83 18808 BC

is what i'm trying in hand at the salvage yard
 

Last edited by Lady Penelope; 01-06-2019 at 11:25 AM.
  #18  
Old 01-06-2019, 03:19 PM
Senior Member
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Albuquerque, NM
Posts: 224
Received 41 Likes on 27 Posts
Default

I gave up on the Sub. I already have one in the trunk and I just purchased a set of speaker for the doors that kick the bass pretty good and I almost can get rid of the one in the trunk. I can turn the trunk down to 3 or 4 now and it is loud enough. I have two amps in the trunk. One for the stereo and one for the sub. The speakers for the door have a split tweeter/woofer. Put one set of tweeters on the bar that goes by the edge of the windshield and put the other set on the back deck. By the way, I cut a hole on the back deck to let the base come on and put speaker covers over the hole.
 
The following users liked this post:
Lady Penelope (01-06-2019)
  #19  
Old 01-09-2019, 06:54 PM
96x300's Avatar
Senior Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2018
Location: Missouri, United States
Posts: 122
Received 38 Likes on 28 Posts
Default

I got my kit in and got everything installed today, and I have to say it works perfectly! The radio end is ISO, which fit the Boss head unit, making absolutely no cutting required.

The fascia piece fills up the gaps nicely as well.

My only issue was getting the head unit to fit in the dash, with the extra bit of wiring in the way.. I got it within a 1/2" of clicking into place but it just will not budge the rest of the way... It took several attempts to get that far so for now I'm calling it good!

Actual product names/numbers are
Autoleads FP-14-00 (fascia)
Connects2 CT20JG02 (ISO Harness)

 

Last edited by 96x300; 01-09-2019 at 07:23 PM. Reason: Added info/pic
The following users liked this post:
Lady Penelope (01-09-2019)
  #20  
Old 01-15-2019, 06:22 AM
Tbilisi79's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Oct 2018
Location: New York.
Posts: 39
Likes: 0
Received 3 Likes on 1 Post
Default

Originally Posted by 96x300 View Post
I got my kit in and got everything installed today, and I have to say it works perfectly! The radio end is ISO, which fit the Boss head unit, making absolutely no cutting required.

The fascia piece fills up the gaps nicely as well.

My only issue was getting the head unit to fit in the dash, with the extra bit of wiring in the way.. I got it within a 1/2" of clicking into place but it just will not budge the rest of the way... It took several attempts to get that far so for now I'm calling it good!

Actual product names/numbers are
Autoleads FP-14-00 (fascia)
Connects2 CT20JG02 (ISO Harness)

thank you. Iím trying to do the same thing, but have hard time finding the install kit. Itís not showing in USA. ill try to purchase it from UK. Do you think itís possible ?
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Quick Reply: Stereo installation question


Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

© 2019 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
 
  • Ask a Question
    Get answers from community experts
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: