XJ XJ8 / XJR ( X308 ) 1997 - 2003

jaguar xjr 4.0 supercharged wont start

Search this Thread

Old 06-13-2012, 04:12 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default jaguar xjr 4.0 supercharged wont start

hello guys im new to this but here goes

i have a jaguar xjr 4.2 supercharged.

i had it stood for 3 years as i brought a new jag, i came to start it about 15 months ago and it was just turning over not fireing. but it was sparking as i squirted minimal amount of easy start so i new it was fireing,

then i left it for another year didnt try to start it just straight away i had the tank out and fuel pumps cleaned 1 of the pipes had come off top of fuel pump, so i assumed this was problem, put it all back together , come to start it and nothing not even clicking, ignition comes on, i had vault tested on starter and no power there either.

also wiper dont work squirter s dont work lights dont work, i have engine check light on and another light but i dont no what it is a bit like a bulb with a line through it,

so i dont no if ive done something wrong or if it was like this before i even took tank out., i wish i had tried it again before i pulled the tank out.,

im baffled on this 1 out of ideas i hope its not time for scrap yard,

just a update with my valult stick i have traced power to the starter motor, so should i pop this off clean it and test it, i took the earth cable off cleaned t but still nothing

appreciate any replies thanx jami

Old 06-13-2012, 08:47 PM
Received 38 Likes on 30 Posts

1st, four years of no charging, it time for a new battery.
2nd, how fresh in the fuel?
3rd, Air filter clean?
4th, Check to see if anything, made a nest in the exhaust.

All of the above needs to be checked and corrected for a car that sits that long.

Don't send it off to the salvage yard, if you get tired of part it out. You get more for parts than the yard will ever give you.

Old 06-14-2012, 01:52 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default jaguar wont start