just bought my first jaguar! (gearbox fault?) - Jaguar Forums - Jaguar Enthusiasts Forum


XJ XJ8 / XJR ( X308 ) 1997 - 2003

just bought my first jaguar! (gearbox fault?)

Reply
 
 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
  #1  
Old 01-18-2018, 02:29 PM
justas696661's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Posts: 42
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default just bought my first jaguar! (gearbox fault?)

Nice to be here, i am Justas from Lithuania

i just bought my first jaguar 1998 jaguar xj8 4liter (with VVT solenoids)

it have 171000km so condition is very good but i noticed that something is wrong with acceleration, when i push pedal to max full throttle it accelerate till 4000rpm and then turns next gear., no difference ir 'S' is on or off.. where is the video below.
i have tried to drive with 3.2 engine for test and it runs well, rpm go to red line 7000rpm. , where the problem can be?? no fault codes coming nothing

Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-18-2018, 02:48 PM
Lady Penelope's Avatar
Veteran Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Location: Kansas City USA
Posts: 1,870
Thanked 526 Times in 445 Posts
Default

On the N/S switch did you get the mode light ?

If not check the switch by looking for a ground at the transmission connector car direction pin 12 ( Red / Purple wire ) as you cycle the switch .
Attached Thumbnails
just bought my first jaguar! (gearbox fault?)-x308-transmission-aj26-untitled.png   just bought my first jaguar! (gearbox fault?)-x308-mode-untitled.png  

Last edited by Lady Penelope; 01-18-2018 at 03:03 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-18-2018, 03:13 PM
justas696661's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Posts: 42
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

no red light on 'S' button no matter if i turn it on or off,
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-18-2018, 03:13 PM
justas696661's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Posts: 42
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

can this be a problem?
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-18-2018, 03:29 PM
Lady Penelope's Avatar
Veteran Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Location: Kansas City USA
Posts: 1,870
Thanked 526 Times in 445 Posts
Default

Yes , test the switch with a meter at the transmission connector . The light verifies that the transmission has switched as a follow up through the transmission . The meter will go from 0 to 20 ohms as you switch it from S to N . The ground may have been disturbed .

Last edited by Lady Penelope; 01-18-2018 at 03:32 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 01-18-2018, 03:37 PM
justas696661's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Posts: 42
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

button ground may have been disturbed? that's the Red / Purple wire that goes to gearbox control module under the hood?
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 01-18-2018, 08:38 PM
Lady Penelope's Avatar
Veteran Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Location: Kansas City USA
Posts: 1,870
Thanked 526 Times in 445 Posts
Default

I don't have the X308 but mine is under the dash on the passenger side very bottom , very fwd . The Red / Purple wire is not a ground but a point to point wire that you would use to read through to switch to the ground coming out of the switch . This keeps you from removing the switch however hard that would be .

Last edited by Lady Penelope; 01-18-2018 at 08:51 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 01-19-2018, 11:37 AM
justas696661's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Posts: 42
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Lady Penelope View Post
I don't have the X308 but mine is under the dash on the passenger side very bottom , very fwd . The Red / Purple wire is not a ground but a point to point wire that you would use to read through to switch to the ground coming out of the switch . This keeps you from removing the switch however hard that would be .

I have tested today 'S' button,. no problems detected.

the problem is when i turn it ON red light lighting everything is okay, but after one hour or more driving red light disappears and and there is no way to turn it on, need to cool down the engine and then all good okay.

can this be a Gearbox ecu problem?

Last edited by justas696661; 01-20-2018 at 01:44 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 01-19-2018, 11:41 AM
justas696661's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Posts: 42
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

and plus acceleration is not so good with my jaguar.. today i tested friend xj8 4l engine and it starts from stop light like insane.. mine is not,. feels like you start to drive with 2nd gear, but it's 1st gear.

very very sad day today..
​​

Last edited by justas696661; 01-20-2018 at 01:45 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 01-19-2018, 12:38 PM
Daim's Avatar
Veteran Member
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Bremen, Germany
Posts: 4,912
Thanked 1,739 Times in 1,266 Posts
Default

Do you get a 'transmission fault' message in the display? Does it at all change gear? Can you manually select the gears?

Last edited by Daim; 01-20-2018 at 03:04 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 01-19-2018, 09:09 PM
Lady Penelope's Avatar
Veteran Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Location: Kansas City USA
Posts: 1,870
Thanked 526 Times in 445 Posts
Default

From that same transmission connector you can read all the shift solenoids as they should read the same resistance . If you have to replace a solenoid it's easy just drop the pan and plug and play .
Attached Thumbnails
just bought my first jaguar! (gearbox fault?)-x308-2001-transmission-ecu-untitled.png   just bought my first jaguar! (gearbox fault?)-x308-2001-transmission-untitled.png  
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 01-20-2018, 01:50 AM
justas696661's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Posts: 42
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Daim View Post
Do ypu get a 'transmission fault' message in the display? Does it at all change gear? Can you manually xelect the gears?
no fault messages.. i can manually select all gears while driving.
it just starts so slowly to accelerate, fells like you start to drive with 2nd gear, but i have tested, is starts to drive with 1st gear,

maybe my engine i weak?
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 01-20-2018, 03:05 AM
Daim's Avatar
Veteran Member
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Bremen, Germany
Posts: 4,912
Thanked 1,739 Times in 1,266 Posts
Default

Hmm, so, it accelerates quite slowly. You can select all gears. Do the revs build up slowly and does it bog out?
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 01-20-2018, 03:05 AM
ericjansen's Avatar
Veteran Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Taiwan, R.O.C.
Posts: 2,347
Thanked 806 Times in 612 Posts
Default

Is your spark advancing all the way?
It should be ~4 at idle, then advance to some ~30 degrees at acceleration / higher rpm's.

You can simply check it by using a bluetooth or wifi connector (depending phone) in the OBD plug, and a program on your smartphone.

Maybe a long shot, but I am asking, cause there was a UK member here last year, having same kind of problems of lacking power and strange shifts.
He went through a lot, only to find out his knock sensors were toast, but they refused to throw a code.

His car drives perfectly after replacing the sensors.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 01-20-2018, 03:51 AM
justas696661's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Posts: 42
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Daim - revs are very good , not slow at all,

ericjansen- where knock sensors are located ? i just waked up and driving to buy elm327 bluetooth scanned , i have also purchased torque pro app , maybe there i can see some useful information, but im still not sure what i should search in the app to see " spark advancing"
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 01-20-2018, 04:24 AM
ericjansen's Avatar
Veteran Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Taiwan, R.O.C.
Posts: 2,347
Thanked 806 Times in 612 Posts
Default

It is called timing advance in Torque.
And the sensors are located in the V, partially under the intake manifold.
Not much to see though.
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 01-20-2018, 08:22 AM
justas696661's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Posts: 42
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

sad news.. tried 2 different obd2 bluetooth scanners .., not possible to connect to car ECU
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 01-20-2018, 09:12 AM
ericjansen's Avatar
Veteran Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Taiwan, R.O.C.
Posts: 2,347
Thanked 806 Times in 612 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by justas696661 View Post
sad news.. tried 2 different obd2 bluetooth scanners .., not possible to connect to car ECU
You have a Android phone?
Cause Bluetooth does not work with Apple, then you need a Wifi adapter.
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 01-20-2018, 10:11 AM
justas696661's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Posts: 42
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

yes android , connection to obd adapter was established but with car ECU - not was using torque pro

anyway i bought this one few mins ago https://www.ebay.ie/itm/iCarsoft-i930-OBD2-Device-de-Diagnostique-CanBus-Scanner-Pays-Rover-Range/201999939478?ssPageName=STRK%3AMEBIDX%3AIT&_trksid =p2057872.m2749.l2649

hope jaguar will be listed ., because on some youtube videos about iCarsoft-i930 jaguar was lot listed , only rover , look

Last edited by justas696661; 01-20-2018 at 10:20 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 01-20-2018, 12:44 PM
Lady Penelope's Avatar
Veteran Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Location: Kansas City USA
Posts: 1,870
Thanked 526 Times in 445 Posts
Default

Look for the 2nd TPS that feeds the transmission ECU separate physically from the 1st that feeds the engine ECU . Have you cleaned the electrical connector on the transmission itself , gets contaminated by a common fluid leak from above as well as the general environmental conditions . There is a speed sensor at the input end of the transmission as well as one in the output end and a error in these signals may error the shifting schedule or sequence .

Last edited by Lady Penelope; 01-20-2018 at 12:51 PM.
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Lady Penelope For This Useful Post:
justas696661 (01-25-2018)
 
 
Reply

Related Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Just bought my first Jaguar C_Dub New Member Area - Intro a MUST 5 07-23-2011 10:31 PM
Daimler V8 Engine fault, transmission fault, traction control fault and air suspension fault steffenvh XJ XJ8 / XJR ( X308 ) 2 01-11-2010 12:45 AM
Just bought "Gearbox Fault" mutisync X-Type ( X400 ) 11 01-11-2009 04:20 AM
Hi I just bought my first Jaguar (s type 1999 4.0 v8) colmcassidy New Member Area - Intro a MUST 6 05-04-2008 01:16 AM
Hello my name is Josh! I just bought first Jaguar a 01 S-type Jag9891 New Member Area - Intro a MUST 4 05-04-2008 01:12 AM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Advertising
Featured Sponsors
Vendor Directory

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:23 PM.


JAGUAR and its logo are the registered trademarks of Jaguar Cars Limited. Jaguar Cars Limited is not affiliated with JaguarForums.com. We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
 
  • Ask a Question
    Get answers from community experts
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: