XJ40 ( XJ81 ) 1986 - 1994

89 xj6 left instruments dead

Search this Thread

Old 07-27-2012, 08:32 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Talking 89 xj6 left instruments dead

I have a XJ6 that has the fuel, temp, oil guages dead. I took it to a car wash and the guages came to life! I hope it is just a matter of a new earth. I am new to this car so any tips on how to get there would really be great! Thanks Richard

Old 07-28-2012, 11:09 AM
Received 248 Likes on 170 Posts
Default 89 xj6 left instruments dead

Richard,

I have an 89 xj6 as well and have the digital dash, it yours the same?

If you do have the digital dash, the problem is with solder points on the circuit boards for the dash components. It's not a difficult fix, just time consuming, but not hard to accomplish. If you are having problems with one side now, it's just a matter of time before the other side starts acting up.

I think it's coincidental the dash lights illuminated while at the car wash, the dash cluster probably got a good physical jolt from a door slamming or such. You'll notice if the lights go out again, a firm slap on the dash cluster top will often reestablish illumination, at the same time causes more deterioration in the solder points.

This is one of the famous "faults" of the 89 xj6; the other is the door handles. If you do some searching in this and other forums, you will find it a common problem and easily fixable without spending major money.

Before going into an explanation, can you confirm you have a digital dash?

Rob Evenson

The following 2 users liked this post by Rob Evenson:
Don B (08-20-2015), LuvMyCat (10-21-2012)
Old 07-29-2012, 10:33 AM
Default Digital Dash solder issues

Yes I have a digital dash. I really appreciate your responce. It makes such a difference to know what direction the battle lies.

Old 07-29-2012, 01:06 PM
Default Digital Dash solder issues

Richard,

Your very welcome for the assistance, plenty has been given to me by forum members, so I'm passing it on.