XJ6 & XJ12 Series I, II & III 1968-1992
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

New to Jaguar Questions

Search this Thread

Old 04-05-2019, 10:57 AM
Received 14 Likes on 4 Posts
Default New to Jaguar Questions

Hello, hopefully posting in a reasonable location.
As the title says, I am new to Jags, and will be taking ownership of a 1976 XJ12 in the coming month. It's a gift from the owner of my company. He bought a hangar at one of the airports my company operates out of and everything in and around the hangar was included. He knows I was interested in it, and decided it best go to me. It was either me or pay someone to scrap it, so I literally had no option :-) . I am not shy of projects, I have restored and still working on a 1985 and 1986 Saab c900's (both turbos), and daily drive a 2006 Saab Aero while my wife drives a 2003 Saab. My first car was (and still own) a 1953 MG TD. I've had odds and ends with cars and motorcycles (almost all V4 bikes too) over the years and work as an aviation maintenance technician. I'd like to think I'm reasonable with tools and knowledge. I've always wanted an XJS V12 (1994 or newer of course), but could never spare the money. Being given a Jag is a whole different story. It's actually my wife's favorite style as well, so really a win win and will turn into her daily drive since the 2003 Saab is an absolute nightmare.

I've been poking around it extensively and the exterior body is near perfect, as is the interior. Rolling around the ground with a mirror and taking a look has given me very high hopes for the car. Rust is almost non-existent. The car has been sitting at the airport for almost 3 years, so I expected it to be worse. It's not concourse ready by any means, but no one would think it's bad at a local car show.