XJ6 & XJ12 Series I, II & III 1968-1992
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Performance increase

Search this Thread

Old 12-24-2017, 03:43 PM
Received 13 Likes on 12 Posts
Default Performance increase

Not trying to go crazy here but it just bothers me that the Euro model has more power, and not to mention the realized potential of the 4.2 liter in other Jags. I'm sure the catalytic has something to do with it but besides that I read somewhere about "removing the throttle plates (and plugging shaft holes) inside the water heater over the intake ports". I'm a Jag newbie and new owner of an '85 XJ6 and not all that familiar with the car yet. Can someone explain this further?

Old 12-24-2017, 05:22 PM
Veteran Member
Received 2,430 Likes on 1,940 Posts

Doug is your man for this, and as it's Christmas Eve, you may not hear from him for a couple of days or even more. I think US cars had a lower compression ratio too, as the fuel in the US can be of a lower octane rating. Then there is all the plumbing for Californian smog regulations that takes away power, but I don't know what is involved in that, as my car was a UK car so had untrammelled power ! Certainly the torque of the engine did give me that "Master of the Universe" feeling for the first time.

Old 12-24-2017, 06:55 PM
Veteran Member
Received 1,359 Likes on 790 Posts

Originally Posted by Nanonevol
Not trying to go crazy here but it just bothers me that the Euro model has more power, and not to mention the realized potential of the 4.2 liter in other Jags. I'm sure the catalytic has something to do with it but besides that I read somewhere about "removing the throttle plates (and plugging shaft holes) inside the water heater over the intake ports". I'm a Jag newbie and new owner of an '85 XJ6 and not all that familiar with the car yet. Can someone explain this further?