XJ6 & XJ12 Series I, II & III 1968-1992
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Rear shock options for Series 3 XJ6

Search this Thread

Old 09-21-2016, 10:16 PM
Received 7 Likes on 4 Posts
Default Rear shock options for Series 3 XJ6

I'm new to this forum, so I should probably do a short introduction.

I'm a full-time college student cursed with a love of British cars. This means I don't exactly have the funds to maintain a stock powertrain on an XJ6, but I adore the car's ride quality, legroom, cargo space, low center of gravity, weight distribution, rear wheel drive, and excellent cornering for its size and weight. Plus, it's classy as it gets, I mean come on...

Due to this I've been a deviant and put a stroked out Chevy small block (crate motor I got on the cheap) with a Buick 200-4R 4-speed overdrive automatic (out of a Grand National) into my XJ6. The original owner's engine took a chunk out of the side of the block . It's a little quicker than stock with 383 cubic inches (6.3L), and most importantly, it drops maintenance costs to the point that I can afford to keep it running as my daily and out of the junkyard on my shoestring budget.

Aside from the powertrain, the car is almost bone stock and has no outstanding issues.

On to the question at hand. My rear shocks are getting soft, so I need to swap them. I could just snag some generics, but I have a feeling you guys would know what the good stuff is, and I'd appreciate your suggestions. Despite the conversion, weight only changed in that the front end is roughly 50lbs lighter. I wouldn't think that would matter on such a massive car, but I don't have the experience that you guys have.

The following users liked this post:
Blackadder (09-25-2016)
Old 09-21-2016, 10:54 PM
Veteran Member
Received 10,757 Likes on 7,101 Posts

Boge is generally well liked for those wanted to keep the original characteristics. I like them

For a sporting flavor many like Spax and Bilstein, or the venerable Koni

Cheers
DD