XJ6 & XJ12 Series I, II & III 1968-1992
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Smooth idle -- possible or not?

Search this Thread

Old 01-19-2012, 02:36 AM
Received 5 Likes on 5 Posts
Default Smooth idle -- possible or not?

Since I'm new to my 87 XJ6, I'm wondering how smooth these engines idled when they were new?

I have recently replaced thermostat, CTS, MAF, plugs, cap, and rotor in order to pass the smog test. The engine now warms up fine and runs fine. All except for the idle which still bounces a bit too noticeably while at a stop light.

Next steps might be the fuel filter and possibly injector service. Another possibility is the throttle position sensor -- if this XJ has one. Sometimes a TPS will put out an unstable signal at idle as it wears out. In any case, I wanted some opinions just to make sure I'm covering all the bases.

Old 01-19-2012, 06:27 AM
Received 14 Likes on 10 Posts

I've got an '86 XJ6 so basically the same car as yours. I don't know if I'd say my idle is perfectly smooth yet, but one thing that helped me out was going through and thoroughly replacing all vacuum lines in the engine compartment. If this hasn't been done on your car the you are guaranteed to have some cracked hoses which let unwanted air into the mix.

Sending the fuel injectors is probably a good idea as well, that's my next step as well.

Good luck!

Eric

Old 01-19-2012, 07:21 AM
Veteran Member
Received 10,747 Likes on 7,099 Posts

Originally Posted by e21pilot
Since I'm new to my 87 XJ6, I'm wondering how smooth these engines idled when they were new?

Nobody remembers.

The choppy idle is an age-old bugaboo with these cars, though

Next steps might be the fuel filter and possibly injector service.

Professional injector has improved the idle on every car I've own

Another possibility is the throttle position sensor -- if this XJ has one.

Nope, it doesn't

In any case, I wanted some opinions just to make sure I'm covering all the bases.