XJ6 & XJ12 Series I, II & III 1968-1992

Timing

 
  #1  
Old 08-20-2016, 11:30 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: Lafayette, Louisiana
Posts: 97
Likes: 0
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default Timing

Hi it me again and wanted to know it this is correct, I have a 1981 XJ6 and to check the timing I should hook my strobe to the number 6 spark plug lead and set for 10 degrees??/ Thanks Jerry.
 
  #2  
Old 08-20-2016, 05:56 PM
Veteran Member
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Pacific Northwest USA
Posts: 20,149
Received 6,551 Likes on 4,862 Posts
Default

I use the #1 lead, per tradition, but I think #6 will work just as well

I'd set it to 10 as a base setting then road test. No pinging heard? Then advance the timing bit by bit until you get pinging, then retard back a bit. Drive under a variety of conditions, including up hills.

Cheers
DD
 
The following 2 users liked this post by Doug:
Grant Francis (08-20-2016), Jag7651 (08-21-2016)
  #3  
Old 08-20-2016, 07:57 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: Lafayette, Louisiana
Posts: 97
Likes: 0
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default Timing

Sound great..Thanks Jerry
 
  #4  
Old 08-21-2016, 05:53 AM
Senior Member
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 167
Received 34 Likes on 30 Posts
Default

The sticker on my bonnet says 14deg before top dead centre at 750rpm with vaccuum disconected, 86 series 3 xj6, its woefully slow at this the factory setting. What do others run at?
 
  #5  
Old 08-21-2016, 08:51 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: Lafayette, Louisiana
Posts: 97
Likes: 0
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default Timng

I ended up wit another problem The car now starts fine and for the first 10 seconds it idles at about 700 rpm's then it goes to 1400 rpm's. I assume I have a vacuum leak but I have not been able to find it with carb cleaner. I have ordered a can of smoke to test vacuum system, I know the trick with a cigar but I have terrible asthma and can not be around smoke. I don't know what else it could be? And yes the timing is off it is about 6 degrees. Thanks Jerry
 
  #6  
Old 08-21-2016, 09:11 AM
Veteran Member
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Walnut Creek, California
Posts: 5,735
Received 1,945 Likes on 1,569 Posts
Default

Way out there guess:

You awoke the advance systems, either vacum or centrifugal. Engine fires at static, advance/s kick in, idle speed increaes.

Use the strobe see where the advance is, I suopect a lot more than the initial 10!!!

For smokeless vacum leak hunting:

1. Clamp off or plug sources at the intake. don't forget the one hiding under toward the rear. And the maze for AC control. Two teeny ones well hidden under the battery box. I've never seen them, only felt them!!! Luckily one spigot seems larger. so, getting the right hose on the right spigot works out. And there is a resevoir under the brake booster. it or the onnecting hoses can leak

Heat cooks the rubber and they may look good, but bust on touch.

2. Squirt bits of a combustible at suspected places. Speed increases, you found it.

1 or 6? Depends which way one counts??? Fire wall to front. or radiator to the rear... Jag says the one close to the fire wall is no. 1 ???

Carll
 
  #7  
Old 08-21-2016, 09:32 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: Lafayette, Louisiana
Posts: 97
Likes: 0
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default Timing

Thanks Carll I will give it a try, but like usual it will be next Thursday, got to leave my camp/shop and go back home to reality..Jerry
 
  #8  
Old 08-22-2016, 06:46 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: Lafayette, Louisiana
Posts: 97
Likes: 0
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default Timing

Carll will the speed increase if it is already at 1400 rpm. Jerry
 
  #9  
Old 08-22-2016, 07:33 AM
Veteran Member
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Walnut Creek, California
Posts: 5,735
Received 1,945 Likes on 1,569 Posts
Default

Probably, if it leaks air, it is running lean, adding fuel optimizes the mixture and RPM's will increase...


Fun, huh???


I sure hope you and yours are not in the flood areas. Devastating.
We have EQ's and you' all have floods. Not much of a choice, but,


I've managed through a few EQ's. Only one hit our family fairly hard.
About 71 in SOCAl. The threat of an earthen dam burst caused us to a mandatory evacuation. Fortunately, a massive pumping effort relieved the pressure and it held. If not, flood would have ensued.
Our house less than a mile downstream.


Carl




Carl
 
  #10  
Old 08-22-2016, 08:17 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: Lafayette, Louisiana
Posts: 97
Likes: 0
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default Timing

OK sound good. No we had 20" of rain in 2 days and the roads were flooded but no water in our house. Yea EQ's are not good either I think mother nature is trying to tell us something. we had friends in Walnut creek but they moved to Benicia and another friend in Sebastopol. We try to go up and see them every 2 or 3 years. We are due next year. Hope there is no EQ's/ Thanks Jerry
 
 
Related Topics
Thread
Thread Starter
Forum
Replies
Last Post
ericjansen
XJ XJ8 / XJR ( X308 )
9
05-01-2016 05:58 PM
dsnyder586
XJ XJ8 / XJR ( X308 )
8
04-15-2016 04:47 PM
texasjag79
X-Type ( X400 )
9
05-25-2007 05:42 PM
texasjag79
X-Type ( X400 )
6
05-16-2007 10:19 PM

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Quick Reply: Timing


Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

© 2019 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
 
  • Ask a Question
    Get answers from community experts
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: