XJ6 & XJ12 Series I, II & III 1968-1992
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

XJ12 with LPG? Or x350?

Old 05-03-2018, 03:45 PM
Received 3 Likes on 2 Posts
Default XJ12 with LPG? Or x350?

Hello guys, newbie here, been sifting through a lot of information on the forum - but still need a bit of advice.

In my hello posting I explained how I'm selling my motorcycle and my car to fulfill one of my father's dreams - and gift him a Jaguar. It would be a weekend car. Narrowed everything to three options, all well-maintained - a 4.2 x300, a 3.0 x350 and a gorgeous xj12 HE. All about them, in the above-mentioned post.

The pluses of the first two are obvious - modern cars, still gorgeous, with many of the conveniences of the current era (ahead of their time): parking sensors, heated seats and mirrors, cd player and so on. Downside in both the x300 and the x350 is that taxes in my country are obscene - the 3.0 would be like 500 euros/ 400 gbp/ 600 USD yearly. TRIPLE that for the bigger 4.2.

So i just might decide for the XJ12. The car itself is registered as a historic vehicle, seller seems ok (has a a few other cars as well); it's the third generation, completely restored injection system, problem with the reverse gear cylinder and of course bodywork stuff, rusty arches etc. Upside - tax on this thing is virtually nothing. Downside? Well... he says it's really fuel hungry, 15-25 l/100 km (11-18 mpg). Otherwise, cars seems fine and pampered, will go see it in a couple of weeks.

So here are my questions, and many thanks for your patience:
1. For less hassle, should I opt for the newer models instead of the xj12?
2. Is it possible to install a good LPG system in the XJ12? Anyone did it?

Last edited by John Amaradia; 05-03-2018 at 04:05 PM.
Old 05-03-2018, 05:56 PM
Veteran Member
Received 2,418 Likes on 1,933 Posts

Just so you know, the road tax on my 2007 XJ6 Sovereign )X358) 3 litre petrol is £520 per year, (or £10 week ). I would not call your £400 excessive.