XJS ( X27 ) 1975 - 1996 3.6 4.0 5.3 6.0

1989 V12 horn replacement

Search this Thread

Old 11-13-2014, 10:56 AM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 1989 V12 horn replacement

Hi guys i recently have been trying to repair the horn in my 1989 V12 XJS. After discovering the previous owner had installed a novilty horn I purchased a orignal xjs horn from an itentical model.

I need advice on wireing it in as at the moment the Jag has to wires (red & black) which i know is positive and negative but the replacement horns have one yellow and green wire showed in the attached photo. How it i wire it up as im not an expert

Attached Thumbnails 1989 V12 horn replacement-image.jpg  
Old 11-13-2014, 11:56 AM
Veteran Member
Received 693 Likes on 562 Posts

Well it is just a switch, so it really should not matter how it is wired.

Also. I don't know if you attached the wrong photo, but those wires as absolutely purple and black, not yellow and green.

The assumption then would be that black is ground, and a check in a 1992MY diagram confirms black as ground and purple with the black tracer as power.

Old 11-13-2014, 12:22 PM

Hi thanks for the reply i upload the correct photo but do suffer from slight colour blindness. So would i connct the wire to the red or black one in jag?

Old 11-13-2014, 02:51 PM
Veteran Member

Yeah I didn't want to just assume and be like "hey man are you colorblind or something?"

Anyways, the one on the bottom in the image that is cut off is purple, it feeds to power. I am assuming the black on that is further up in the picture is green to you because it is darker and it should be ground.

So with your current setup that would be black to black and red to purple(err yellow?). The one on the bottom and furthest to the left on the picture goes to red power source and the other is grounded using the black wire.