XJS ( X27 ) 1975 - 1996 3.6 4.0 5.3 6.0

1989 XJS V12 Convertible

Search this Thread

Old 07-16-2012, 01:07 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 1989 XJS V12 Convertible

I have the option of purchasing a 1989 XJS Convertible. It seems to be in good condition (no leaks etc) and the engine "sounds" strong. It has 42,000 miles on it. The leather is in good condition as is the roof. However.....the "A/C does not work". That is all I know. The dealer said that maybe it needs to be recharged. They are not prepared to offer anymore advise or service it due to the purchase price. They never said if the fan was running, but based upon their prior statement I assume it is.

So, my question to this forum is.....where do i start? Is there an "easy" way to asses the problem? What is the absolute worst case scenario? I assume the worst case would be the compressor has gone out. But I am new to this so would appreciate some input from experienced persons such as yourself.

I should add, that this vehicle is about 200 miles away from me and i do not have access to the car. Before i decide to go and test drive the unit i want to be sure it is worth it.

Thanks in advance.

Old 07-16-2012, 01:29 PM
Veteran Member
Received 10,757 Likes on 7,101 Posts

Originally Posted by AndrewB
So, my question to this forum is.....where do i start? Is there an "easy" way to asses the problem?

No, not really. The only somewhat easy thing is to have the system charged and see what happens from there. You might get lucky :-)

What is the absolute worst case scenario? I assume the worst case would be the compressor has gone out. But I am new to this so would appreciate some input from experienced persons such as yourself.

A compressor replacement is one of the "better/easier" possibilities.