Old 03-11-2012, 04:30 PM
Received 5 Likes on 2 Posts
Default 86 V-12 Hard to Start When Hot

Hi Guys. I'm a newbie, so go easy
Have an XJ-SC (1986) V12. When the engine is hot, under any
acceleration (and in particular going uphill, it's
embarrassing), she coughs and splutters and occasionally
backfires.
I've changed the fuel pump and checked the filter.
Seems to only happen when the engine is hot.
It was suggested that the ignition amplifier module was the culprit so I purchased a new module from the States. It lasted
one 30min trip. Went to start the engine again and no spark
whatsoever. In pouring rain (naturally) I put the module
that was playing up back in (worked ok when cold). Drove for
about 15mins. Engine dead cut again. Tilt-tray brought the
car home. On looking at the whole module now, LOTS of burnt
wires mostly going back to the rear coil!!
I will have to replace the whole module housing, not just
the part so I can get all the new wires.
Damn!
These amplifiers are quite expensive and I'm interested in the possibility of changing to a single coil, which I presume has a different ignition amplifier. Therefore before I spend a lot of money I would like to gather your thoughts. Thanks. Rod.

Old 03-11-2012, 07:08 PM
Veteran Member
Received 2,576 Likes on 1,712 Posts

I don't have any experience on the Lucas system only Marelli but now the other guys like Doug, Grant et al will chime in and give you some guidance.

I know Grant changed his to a single coil so he can point you in the right direction.

There are a number of options if you want to modify the system depending on budget. From simple mods to all out replacement of the ignition with an aftermarket electronic system.

BTW what suburb are in? I am in Casula if you need a hand.

Old 03-11-2012, 07:44 PM
Veteran Member
Received 10,749 Likes on 7,100 Posts

A DAC6093 coil (Ducellier coil, Jaguar part number) works well to replace the original dual coils on the Lucas ignition.