XJS ( X27 ) 1975 - 1996 3.6 4.0 5.3 6.0

Can you guys help a total novice fix a XJS?

Old 07-08-2016, 12:30 PM
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Question Can you guys help a total novice fix a XJS?

Hello everyone. I'm a virgin mechanic, and I have barely lifted a spanner in my life. So, what would someone in my position do? Buy the most complicated car of course!

Basically, I'm looking for some advice / tips / knowledge.
Car doesn't have an MOT - hasn't for so long that there is nothing on record.

I know this will be a complicated long-term job, but if I can ask a few questions on its repair as I go along, that'd be handy

Faults:
  • Blue smoke - can't say if just on startup or worse because the car was barely moved
  • Handbrake won't work at all
  • Rust on the front passenger sill

They are the most major faults I have right now. What I'd like to ask to begin with, is what is the procedure for repairing the sill, if it's just a case of welding a few plates on? And if it does need to go, how is that done?

(again, I'm really sorry for being naive!)

PS: I'll post some pictures of the car in due course.

Attached Thumbnails Can you guys help a total novice fix a XJS?-dscn0239.jpg   Can you guys help a total novice fix a XJS?-%24_57.jpg  
Old 07-08-2016, 12:39 PM

Sorry! I forgot some key details - derp.

1992 (ergo facelift) 4 litre straight 6. 132k miles (ouch!)

While the car is on grass, that grass has been trimmed a lot, and the tarpaulin removed. It also has a breathable cover, so let's not worry about rusting right away.

Basically, there are some small tasks that need doing on the car first, which I think I can figure out, but I'd like to know how the major things are to be fixed.

I'm also assuming that the chassis is okay. Hopefully soon I can confirm that or not. Fingers crossed!

Just to prove there is no "visual" rust on the car's exterior, and that the interior is in decent nick, here is a "tour" of the video I knocked together