XJS ( X27 ) 1975 - 1996 3.6 4.0 5.3 6.0

Color sanded, looks phenomenal

Search this Thread

Old 10-05-2013, 07:11 PM
Veteran Member
Received 365 Likes on 262 Posts
Default Color sanded, looks phenomenal

My XJS was painted two years ago. Back, when the car had just been painted it looked great, but as time went by, I noticed a slight loss of gloss that up close looked like micro-orange peel, which unfortunately kept slowly getting worse. This fellow who I see at car shows and who owns a showcar paint business assured me that this is not unusual at all and that in many cases the paint will be color sanded considerably later because, for various reasons (some the painter’s fault), some paint jobs take time to settle and that could well be the case with my car, but that two years should be more than enough time for the paint to be ready for the final touch, i.e. color/wet sanding.

I have limited knowledge about car paint and some knowledge about how color sanding works, but I have never done it myself. I do know that the hood (which was stripped down to the metal) received a bunch of clear coats, but not necessarily the rest of the car, so I felt shy of practicing on it myself and decided to let the pros take over, but not the guy who painted it. Although I’ve seen some pretty good jobs he’s done, I still blame this on him, so whether I’m right or wrong, I won’t go back to him.